Postcard from Brazil: UBC PhD student travels to Southern Amazonia to find the water footprint of local farms

Following its colonization of large areas of natural vegetation, Brazil is one of the largest soybean producers on the planet. Given the intense seasonal rains that Southern Amazonia receives between October and May, farmers can grow soybean without any irrigation; however, this may change given that climatic conditions and atmospheric feedback from deforestation could decrease regional rainfall.  

Keeping an eye on climate change

Sina was beginning his program at the University of Northern BC’s Natural Resources and Environment Studies department when he was given the opportunity to apply his specialized knowledge of watershed management to an Accelerate project for lumber giant Canfor.

“We have a pulp mill in Prince George that draws water from the Nechako River,” says Mike Bradley, Director of Sustainability for Canfor Pulp. “That means the water level and its clarity are very important to us. We were concerned about how changes over time would affect our business.”

Communicating science

“I just knew that there was a better way,” he said. “There had to be a way to engage students using technology.”

Rowan created simulation and visualization tools and shared them with faculty at the university. Suitably impressed, several professors incorporated the new technology into the geology curriculum. Not one to be satisfied with the status quo, Rowan revamped the tools after graduation and put them online. His tools are now used at universities worldwide to help educate and engage budding geologists.

Stepping into industry

Where are they now? Former Accelerate intern spreads the word about Mitacs

During Juan’s postdoc, he undertook four Mitacs Accelerate internships with FORRx Consulting Inc., a Vancouver-based firm specializing in ecosystem modeling. Juan credits his Accelerate experience with giving him a significant professional jumpstart:

“The funding was key to developing my academic career, my relationships, and my understanding of the use and transfer of my research for real-life and business situations.”

Sowing the seeds of success

Adam is the brains behind the Eden Project, a unique social enterprise with a mission to offer local, organic produce at competitive prices.

“Global food systems are changing due to a variety of stressors, and food prices are climbing. We believe that urban agriculture and locally-grown food will play an important role in future food supplies as our societies adapt to these changes,” he explains.

A seed was planted

Reclaiming the future

Her friend and colleague, Amber Jarvinen, approached her about the possibility of using bacteria to clean up oil and chemical spills. Amber had founded a small environmental start-up and was looking for a partner with expertise in environmental biology.

The big launch

Postcard from Vietnam: Supporting sustainable fisheries with GIS

The temperature was 46 degrees for almost the entire first two weeks here, and I’m quite sure to have lost ten pounds in that time. Luckily, Hanoi is one of the great street food capitals of the world, where you can get a tasty bowl of Bún chả famous to the city, with freshly grilled meats in it for $1 or $2 and gain back any of that lost summer weight.

Postcard from Vietnam: UBC student investigates impact of fishing on wild seahorses

It’s been a whirlwind of new experiences since I arrived in Vietnam two months ago. I am here to study seahorses, both underwater and those that are caught by fishing boats. It’s the field portion of my MSc degree, which I am completing at the University of British Columbia Fisheries Centre, co-supervised by Drs. Amanda Vincent and Sarah Foster. My lab, Project Seahorse, conducts research all over the world, with a focus on Southeast Asia. My work is strengthening ties between Canada and Vietnam, and helps work towards greater conservation for seahorses.

Postcard from India: Graduate student studies how 400,000 rural fishers adapt to climate change

More than 400,000 fishers, belonging to specific fisher castes, customarily depend upon the lagoon for their livelihoods. For my research project, which was based on Khirisahi Island, I analysed how they perceive and adapt to environmental changes.

Sorbonne Universités: A conversation with a Mitacs Globalink Research Award recipient

Reposted with permission from Sorbonne Universités.

After getting his Master’s degree, Yang Liu left his native China in 2011 to attend the University of British Columbia, one of the best universities in Canada, where he is working on his thesis.

Pages

Une collaboration manitobaine donne lieu à une innovation qui stabilise les routes rurales

Cypher Environmental de Winnipeg est déterminée à en finir avec les nuages de poussière étouffants que l’on voit chaque jour sur les routes non revêtues des régions rurales et du nord du Manitoba.

Alors que le problème peut sembler n’être qu’une distraction visuelle mineure, l’impact est important : les camions lourds qui dévalent les routes non revêtues ont un plus grand risque de se retourner à cause du terrain instable et les lacs et cours d’eau environnants peuvent souffrir de l’appauvrissement en nutriments, ce qui tue la faune.

Une compagnie minière de Terre-Neuve trouve le filon avec des étudiants locaux

Maintenant, une nouvelle ressource locale, des stagiaires de recherche du collège, combinés avec la technologie moderne, aideront Anaconda à percer une nouvelle solution pour développer la mine placer.

Soutenus par Mitacs, les étudiants du Collège de l’Atlantique Nord (CNA) aident l’entreprise à trouver un processus minier rentable pour extraire de l’or de Deer Cove, tout en laissant l’habitat naturel largement intact. C’est le premier projet Mitacs à Terre-Neuve qui jumelle des stagiaires du collège avec une entreprise.

Carte postale du Brésil : Un doctorant de l’Université de la Colombie-Britannique se rend en Amazonie du Sud pour connaître l’empreinte des fermes locales sur l’eau

Après la colonisation de vastes étendues de végétation naturelle, le Brésil est devenu l’un des plus importants producteurs de soya de la planète. En raison des fortes pluies saisonnières que reçoit l’Amazonie du Sud entre les mois d’octobre et de mai, les fermiers peuvent s’adonner à la culture du soya sans irrigation; toutefois, cela pourrait changer puisque les conditions climatiques et les répercussions atmosphériques attribuables à la déforestation pourraient diminuer les averses de pluie régionales. 

Les changements climatiques suivis de près

Sina a amorcé son programme au Département des ressources naturelles et des études environnementales de l'Université de Northern British Columbia lorsqu'il a eu l'occasion de mettre en application ses connaissances spécialisées de la gestion des bassins hydrographiques dans un projet Accélération pour Canfor, un géant dans le domaine du bois d'œuvre.

Communication de l’information scientifique

« Je savais qu’il y avait une meilleure façon de faire », affirme-t-il. « Il existait sûrement un moyen d’inciter les étudiants à utiliser la technologie. »

Où sont-ils aujourd’hui? D’anciens stagiaires du programme Accélération parlent de Mitacs

Pendant son postdoctorat, Juan a effectué quatre stages dans le cadre du programme Accélération de Mitacs, au sein de FORRx Consulting Inc., une entreprise de Vancouver spécialisée dans la modélisation des écosystèmes. Juan estime que l’expérience acquise grâce au programme Accélération a donné le coup d’envoi à sa carrière professionnelle :

« Le financement était essentiel au perfectionnement de ma carrière universitaire, de mes relations et de ma compréhension de l’utilisation et de la transposition de ma recherche aux situations réelles et d’affaires. »

Semer la réussite

Adam est le cerveau derrière Eden Project, une entreprise sociale unique dont la mission est d’offrir des produits biologiques locaux à prix concurrentiels.

« Les systèmes alimentaires mondiaux se transforment sous l’influence de divers facteurs de stress, et le prix des aliments ne cesse d’augmenter. Nous sommes d’avis que l’agriculture urbaine et les aliments cultivés localement joueront un rôle important dans les sources de denrées alimentaires alors que nos sociétés s’adapteront à ces changements », explique-t-il.

L’avenir est au recyclage

Son amie et collègue, Amber Jarvinen, lui a parlé de la possibilité d’utiliser des bactéries pour nettoyer des déversements de pétrole et de produits chimiques. Amber avait fondé une petite entreprise environnementale et cherchait un partenaire possédant une expertise dans le domaine de la biologie environnementale.

Le grand lancement

Carte postale du Vietnam : favoriser la pêche durable avec le SIG

Le mercure indiquait 46 degrés pratiquement les deux premières semaines entières et je suis convaincue d’avoir perdu 10 livres pendant cette période. Heureusement, Hanoï est une des capitales du monde pour tout amateur de cuisine de rue délicieuse. On peut y manger un bol délicieux de Bún chả, un mets reconnu dans cette ville, servi avec de la viande grillée pour 1 $ ou 2 $ et reprendre le poids perdu au cours de la saison estivale.

Carte postale du Vietnam : un étudiant de UBC examine l’impact de la pêche sur les hippocampes sauvages

Depuis mon arrivée au Vietnam il y a deux mois, j’ai vécu un tourbillon de nouvelles expériences. Je suis ici pour étudier les hippocampes : ceux qui vivent sous l’eau et ceux qui sont attrapés par les bateaux de pêche. Cette recherche constitue le volet pratique de ma maîtrise en sciences que je suis en train de compléter au centre de la pêche de l’Université de la Colombie-Britannique, sous la tutelle de Dre Amanda Vincente et Dre Sarah Foster. Mon labo, Projet Seahorse, effectue des recherches dans le monde entier, principalement dans le sud-est de l’Asie.

Pages