The Muskrat Hut

Also known as Wachusko weesti, the Muskrat Hut project aims to design a sustainable, locally sourced four-season prototype unit that comprises a composting toilet, shower/sauna, heat source, energy source (solar and wind), and a kitchen area.

‘Lone wolf’ terrorism could face extinction thanks to new computer software

Karthik, an undergraduate student at National Institute of Technology in Hamirpur in India, has joined Associate Professor Andrew Park this summer for a 12-week Mitacs Globalink research internship. He’s helping to develop an algorithm that can accurately and precisely identify the most likely location of a potential sniper attack on a public gathering.

Celebrating 1,500 interns in 2018 and 20 years together

Mitacs internships facilitate connections between university students and non-academic partners across Canada. Partner organizations get the immense benefit of high-quality, rigorous research support and access to ground-breaking knowledge from academia—which may be inaccessible otherwise. Highly-skilled students get to apply their research expertise beyond their academic settings, while also building important skills and connections that serve them after graduation.

The science of stigma

The issue has attracted researchers from multiple disciplines, including Danielle Benesch, who is examining how perceptions of free will could impact our response to the overdose crisis. Danielle, a Mitacs intern from the Universität Osnabrück in Germany, has studied free will and decision-making for years. She travelled to Canada this summer to work on a project, supervised by Professor Eric Racine of the Université de Montréal, to research the relationship between perceptions of free will and addiction.  

A new voice for refugees in Canada

Canada has always welcomed refugees, but with the recent increase in volume the infrastructure has struggled to keep up. Small cities often lack sufficient resources, while refugees lack the skillset to integrate on their own. Sarah Alkholb has travelled from Saudi Arabia to Saskatoon this summer to address one facet of this problem. Working with Professor Hassan Vatanparast, she is researching the food security crisis facing newly landed refugee populations in Canada.

Ontario start-up engages employees with video games

Ontario organizational development consulting firm ODScore asked just that. Except that instead of using actual video games to engage their clients’ employees, they use the principles that make video games engrossing to engage employees at work.

So when they wanted to develop a new service to tackle bigger organizational changes, ODScore turned to the University of Waterloo’s Games Institute for renewed expertise.

At a meeting with Professor Neil Randall, the company learned that what they thought was a technical challenge, was really one of human relations.

Drug education takes a philosophical route

Mahboubeh Asgari, a postdoctoral fellow studying at the University of British Columbia in the Department of Educational and Counselling Psychology, and Special Education, is hoping to address these questions during her two-year Mitacs Elevate fellowship with ARC Programs, a community agency based in Kelowna, BC, and the Centre for Addictions Research of BC (CARBC).

Biomedical engineering intern integrates rehabilitation, robotics, and social media

He had applied the previous year and undertook a research project in Montreal.

Equipped with first-hand information from her friend, Laura submitted her application. She was matched on a project supervised by Dr. Mike Van der Loos, in the University of British Columbia’s (UBC) Mechanical Engineering department. Laura is working in the CARIS lab, which is undertaking experimental research to advance the science of human-robot interaction.

Investigating the philosophy behind near-living architecture

Near-living architecture is an emerging style that incorporates biological features to make environments more responsive to occupants in that space. PBAI’s installations are mini ecosystems — chemically infused and biologically active layers — that perform biochemical reactions like osmosis. They literally react and change in relation to inhabitants of the space.

Linking to London’s Storied Past

After moving to London, Ontario seven years ago, Roberta was intrigued by some of the older Victorian buildings near the downtown area and on historic Dundas Street. She wondered why such beautiful architecture had been neglected and what the significance of these heritage buildings had once been. With help from Jenn McLean, Mitacs Business Development Director, Roberta approached the City of London with an idea to investigate these buildings’ histories as part of a larger cultural revitalization project with the City of London’s Culture Office.

Célébration de 1 500 stagiaires en 2018 et de 20 ans de collaboration

Les stages de Mitacs facilitent les liens entre des étudiants de l’université et des partenaires non universitaires à travers le Canada. Les organismes partenaires obtiennent l’immense avantage du soutien en recherche de haute qualité et rigoureux et accèdent à des connaissances avant-gardistes du milieu postsecondaire, qui pourraient ne pas être accessibles autrement.

La science de la stigmatisation

La question a attiré des chercheurs de diverses disciplines, incluant Danielle Benesch qui examine comment les perceptions de libre arbitre pourraient avoir un impact sur notre réponse à la crise des surdoses. Danielle, une stagiaire Mitacs de l’Universität Osnabrück en Allemagne a étudié le libre arbitre et la prise de décisions depuis des années. Elle s’est rendue au Canada cet été pour travailler sur un projet supervisé par le professeur Eric Racine de l’Université de Montréal afin d’examiner la relation entre les perceptions du libre arbitre et la dépendance.

Une nouvelle voix pour les réfugiés au Canada

Le Canada a toujours accueilli des réfugiés, mais en raison de la hausse récente du nombre de réfugiés, l’infrastructure a de la difficulté à suivre. Les petites villes manquent souvent de ressources, tandis que les réfugiés ne disposent pas de l’ensemble de compétences nécessaires pour s’intégrer. Sarah Alkholb est partie de l’Arabie saoudite pour se rendre à Saskatoon cet été afin d’aborder un des aspects de ce problème.

Une entreprise en démarrage de l’Ontario engage les employés avec des jeux vidéo

La firme de développement organisationnel ontarienne ODScore s’est posé la question. Sauf qu’au lieu d’utiliser de vrais jeux vidéo pour motiver les employés de ses clients, elle utilise les principes qui rendent les jeux vidéo palpitants pour engager les employés au travail.

Donc lorsqu’elle a souhaité élaborer un nouveau service pour s’attaquer à de plus gros changements organisationnels, ODScore s’est tournée vers l’institut des jeux de l’Université de Waterloo pour une expertise renouvelée.

L’éducation antidrogue devient philosophique

Comment les jeunes gens d’aujourd’hui peuvent-ils être éduqués par rapport aux périls de l’utilisation des drogues sans utiliser la peur? Comment pouvons-nous les aider à explorer leurs questions sur les drogues et à développer leur capacité à survivre dans une société où les gens utilisent des drogues?

Une stagiaire en génie biomédical marie réadaptation, robotique et médias sociaux

Il avait présenté sa demande l’année précédente et réalisé un projet de recherche à Montréal.

Se fiant aux renseignements pratiques fournis par son ami, Laura a décidé de soumettre une demande. Elle a été affectée à un projet supervisé par Mike Van der Loos du Département de génie mécanique de l’Université de la Colombie-Britannique. Laura travaille au laboratoire CARIS, où l’on effectue de la recherche expérimentale dans le but de faire progresser la science des interactions humain-robot.

Examen des principes directeurs de l’architecture quasi vivante

L’architecture quasi vivante est un nouveau concept qui intègre des caractéristiques biologiques afin que les environnements soient plus réceptifs aux personnes qui les occupent. Les installations créées par PBAI sont de mini‑écosystèmes — couches biologiquement actives et chimiquement infuses — qui produisent des réactions chimiques comme l’osmose. Elles réagissent et se transforment littéralement en fonction des personnes qui les habitent.

Roberta Cauchi Santoro : reconstituer l’histoire de London

Après s’être installée à London, il y a sept ans, Roberta s’est intéressée à certains édifices historiques qui se dressent dans les environs du centre-ville et dans la rue Dundas, artère historique de la ville. Curieuse de découvrir les raisons pour lesquelles ces richesses architecturales du début de l’ère victorienne étaient en friche, et souhaitant comprendre le rôle passé de ces bâtiments, Roberta s’est alliée à Jenn McLean, directrice du Développement des affaires de Mitacs.

L’attrait d’une visibilité de recherche à l’échelle internationale amène un étudiant indien au Québec

Chez lui, en Inde, Saumya terminera bientôt une formation de cinq ans combinant un baccalauréat en génie électronique et électrique, d’une part, et une maîtrise en économie, d’autre part, à l’Institut de sciences et de technologies de Birla.