Milking RFID technology for all it’s worth

Consumers may not be aware of what’s recyclable in their communities, and common items like milk cartons may end up in landfill. In fact, some recycling is buried regardless of its “recyclability,” and the relative size and commonality of milk cartons means they alone can take up a significant amount of space in a landfill.

Reclaiming the future

Her friend and colleague, Amber Jarvinen, approached her about the possibility of using bacteria to clean up oil and chemical spills. Amber had founded a small environmental start-up and was looking for a partner with expertise in environmental biology.

The big launch

Mitacs Award winner interview: Accelerate intern Stephen Dugdale, Université INRS


Tapping into technical talent

GABAE Industries, a subsidiary of GABAE Development, is a startup technology development company that must be on the cutting edge of research in order to supply their clients with novel technologies for their products.  GABAE’s current focus is on a method of making novel nanoporous filtration media, which will perform better than any other purification product available in the filtration industry today.  In order to pursue this complex scientific initiative, GABAE engaged with Mitacs-Accelerate intern Shanshan Bian at UWaterloo who has experience synthesizing and characterizing nanomateria

Monte Carlo, Northern Saskatchewan

When NexLev took on the challenge of automating the operation of wastewater treatment plants for communities in Northern Saskatchewan, Iskra explains, “we needed a mathematician, but not just any mathematician. We needed someone with the latest, cutting-edge knowledge in fields such as fuzzy logic, modeling, probability theory and Monte Carlo simulation. The problem was this type of person is extremely difficult to find and also very costly.”

Utiliser l'IRF à son plein potentiel

Les consommateurs peuvent ne pas savoir ce qui est recyclable dans leurs communautés et des articles communs comme les cartons à lait peuvent se retrouver à la décharge. En fait, des matières recyclables sont tout de même enfouies et la taille relative ainsi que la quantité de cartons à lait signifie que seuls, ils peuvent occuper un espace important dans une décharge.

L’avenir est au recyclage

Son amie et collègue, Amber Jarvinen, lui a parlé de la possibilité d’utiliser des bactéries pour nettoyer des déversements de pétrole et de produits chimiques. Amber avait fondé une petite entreprise environnementale et cherchait un partenaire possédant une expertise dans le domaine de la biologie environnementale.

Le grand lancement

Exploiter les talents de la recherche technologique

GABAE Industries, filiale de GABAE Development, est une jeune entreprise de R-D qui se spécialise dans le développement de technologies de pointe destinées à doter ses clients des nouvelles technologies nécessaires à leurs produits. Actuellement, GABAE concentre ses recherches sur la fabrication d’un nouveau matériau de filtration nanoporeux qui surpassera en performance tous les autres instruments de purification aujourd’hui proposés par l’industrie des produits de filtration.

Monte Carlo, nord de la Saskatchewan

Lorsque NexLev a accepté le défi d’automatiser l’opération d’usines de traitement des eaux usées pour des communautés du nord de la Saskatchewan, « nous avions besoin d’une mathématicienne, mais pas n’importe quelle mathématicienne. Nous avions besoin de quelqu’un d’outillé avec le savoir d’avant-garde le plus récent dans des domaines tels que la logique floue, la modélisation, la théorie de la probabilité, et la méthode de Monte Carlo. Le problème était que ce genre de personne est très difficile à trouver, et aussi très dispendieuse. »