Canadian start-ups recognized with Mitacs’s Entrepreneur Awards

Vancouver, BC — Mitacs recognizes five up-and-coming researchers-turned-entrepreneurs for their groundbreaking innovations that are helping to propel Canada’s economy forward — and ultimately, improve the lives of Canadians — amid the COVID-19 pandemic.

The Mitacs Entrepreneur Awards celebrate start-up companies founded by outstanding former Mitacs interns, postdoctoral fellows, and training participants, who have gone on to start their own businesses.

Turning the tide on groundwater contamination

Companies decide to start the mining of a particular uranium deposit based on many factors. One major consideration for mining is the presence of environmentally impactful elements such as arsenic, nickel, and cobalt by-products known as tailings and waste rock.

Des entreprises en démarrage canadiennes reçoivent des Prix des entrepreneurs Mitacs

Vancouver, C.-B. — Mitacs récompense cinq chercheurs de la relève devenus entrepreneurs pour leurs innovations révolutionnaires qui contribuent à faire avancer l’économie du Canada et, à terme, à améliorer la vie des Canadiens et des Canadiennes, en pleine pandémie de COVID-19.

Les Prix des entrepreneurs Mitacs célèbrent les entreprises en démarrage lancées par d’exceptionnels anciens stagiaires, chercheurs postdoctoraux et participants aux formations de Mitacs qui ont créé leur propre entreprise.

Lutter contre la contamination des eaux souterraines

De nombreux facteurs peuvent amener des entreprises à décider de se lancer dans l’exploitation minière d’un dépôt d’uranium spécifique. L’un des principaux points à prendre en compte est la présence d’éléments qui ont un impact sur l’environnement tels que les dérivés d’arsenic, de nickel et de cobalt appelés « résidus » et « stériles ».