Manitoba collaboration results in innovation that stabilizes rural roads

Winnipeg-based Cypher Environmental is determined to put an end to the choking dust clouds on unpaved roads seen every day across rural and Northern Manitoba.

Though the problem may seem a minor visual blight, the impact is great: heavy trucks barreling down unpaved roads are at greater risk of rollover from the unstable ground; and nearby lakes and streams can suffer nutrient depletion, killing the natural wildlife.

How a taste for waste makes sustainable food

Led by Professor Filiz Koksel, the team, including Maria Arzamendi, a Mitacs Globalink intern from Mexico, is developing strategies to reduce food waste by using bakery by-products to create high-protein, fiber-rich snacks.

The researchers are combining leftover bread crumbs from a bakery with pulse flour, which is flour from legume crops, and using a novel technique to manipulate the food structure during processing. The local ingredients are resource efficient, environmentally friendly, and nutritional.

Manitoba researchers investigate link between diabetes and dementia

Supervised by Assistant Professor Eftekhar Eftekharpour, Jesua is part of a research team that is investigating a possible biological connection between diabetes and dementia. While recent population studies point to a correlation between diabetes and an increased risk of developing dementia, researchers don’t yet know the exact biological mechanisms that explain it. Jesua is spending his summer investigating one possible answer.

Long-range drone to deliver food and medicine to Canada’s North

In response, local researchers and companies have partnered to develop a new generation of unmanned aerial vehicles (UAVs). They hope to develop UAVs — commonly known as drones — that are robust enough to transport large cargo across vast distances without needing a pilot or GPS.

Beehive data creates buzz with farm-to-table technology

Determined to meet new standards for food traceability, head apiarist Allan Campbell sought a technology-based solution to improve record keeping and management of his entire beekeeping operation.

Allan turned to Bruce Hardy, CEO of Winnipeg software company Function Four, for his expertise in software-based records management.

Mitacs Globalink intern finds her niche at the University of Manitoba

“I had also been accepted to a program in Spain to do research,” she says, “but I chose Canada because it has some of the best universities in the world so I knew I’d get the best opportunity to learn because of Globalink!” She was impressed by the organization of the program and the hands-on approach that Mitacs takes to welcoming the students for their research terms every summer.

Increasing prostate cancer survival rates

Once prostate cancer is diagnosed, a series of biopsies has to be done to determine how serious the case is.  These can be invasive and painful for the patient and may not give an accurate prognosis.

In partnership with Mitacs-Accelerate intern Julius Adebayo Awe, CancerCare Manitoba has developed an innovative way to determine the progression of prostate cancer in intermediate risk prostate cancer patients through a simple blood test. This work is done in collaboration with the Manitoba Prostate Centre and Drs. Darrel Drachenberg and Jeff Saranchuk.

A path to understanding cell migration

This innovative system will allow for highly controlled quantitative data, which will provide efficient cell migration analysis. The research is important because it reveals the underlying mechanisms behind the process of wound healing and other vital cell functions.   

Song’s internship in Canada has provided him with hands-on experience that offered insight into a research field that he intends to pursue in graduate studies.

Dreams of a cure

Daniel comes to Canada from Guadalajara, Mexico’s Instituto Tecnológico y de Estudios Superiores de Monterrey’s Department of Biotechnology engineering on a 12-week Mitacs Globalink internship. Under the guidance of Dr. Peter Eck, from the Department of Human Nutritional Sciences, he is contributing to research on the genes implicated in complex chronic diseases such as Type 2 Diabetes.

A dynamic and diverse experience of Canada

The civil engineering student completed a research project on simulations of barrier walls for bridges to calculate their load bearing capacity with Dr. Ehab Salakawy. Such simulations will help municipal civil engineers to design stronger, more long-lasting structures across Canada.

Comment transformer le gaspillage en aliments durables

L’équipe menée par la professeure Filiz Koksel qui comprend Maria Arzamendi, une stagiaire Mitacs Globalink du Mexique, développe des stratégies pour réduire le gaspillage alimentaire en utilisant des sous-produits de boulangerie pour créer des collations riches en protéines et en fibres.

Des chercheurs du Manitoba cherchent le lien entre le diabète et la démence

Supervisé par le professeur adjoint Eftekhar Eftekharpour, Jesua fait partie d’une équipe de recherche qui étudie un lien biologique possible entre le diabète et la démence. Alors que de récentes études démographiques pointent vers une corrélation entre le diabète et un risque accru de développer la démence, les chercheurs ne savent pas encore quels sont les mécanismes biologiques qui l’expliquent. Jesua passe l’été à étudier une réponse possible.

Drone de longue portée pour la livraison de nourriture et de médicaments dans le nord du Canada

En réponse, les chercheurs et entreprises locales collaborent afin de développer une nouvelle génération de véhicule aérien sans pilote (UAV). Ils espèrent élaborer des UAV, communément appelés des drones, assez robustes pour transporter de grosses charges sur de longues distances sans nécessiter de pilote ou de GPS.

Ruches et technologie : nouvelle aventure

La production commerciale de miel au Canada ne fait pas exception. C’est pourquoi des ruchers familiaux comme Durston Honey Farms tentent de trouver de nouvelles façons de s’adapter à une économie mondialisée.

Décidé à respecter les nouvelles normes en matière de traçabilité alimentaire, l’apiculteur en chef Allan Campbell a cherché une solution technologique qui permettrait d’améliorer la tenue des dossiers et la gestion de l’ensemble de ses activités d’apiculture.

Planification du transport durable, de Wuhan à Winnipeg

En Chine, les planificateurs des infrastructures sont souvent confrontés à des défis importants lorsqu’il s’agit de trouver des façons de favoriser des moyens de transport durables pour les millions de travailleurs qui doivent se déplacer entre les quartiers résidentiels et les secteurs commerciaux du pays. La ville de Winnipeg, au Canada, donne cet été à la stagiaire de recherche chinoise Shuheng Zhu un aperçu particulier des complexités de la planification du transport en commun, mais à une échelle beaucoup plus petite.

Une stagiaire du programme Mitacs Globalink trouve son créneau à l’Université du Manitoba

« J’avais aussi été acceptée dans un programme en Espagne pour faire de la recherche, dit-elle, mais j’ai choisi le Canada parce que c’est un pays doté des meilleures universités dans le monde; je savais donc qu’avec Globalink, ce serait le meilleur endroit pour moi d’approfondir mes connaissances! » La Brésilienne a été impressionnée par l’organisation du programme et l’approche pratique adoptée par Mitacs pour accueillir les étudiants qui viennent faire leur stage de recherche chaque été.

Hausse du taux de survie au cancer de la prostate

Une fois le diagnostic établi, le patient doit subir une série de biopsies visant à établir le degré de gravité. Ces biopsies peuvent se révéler invasives et douloureuses, sans toutefois garantir un pronostic précis.

Une voie vers la compréhension de la migration cellulaire

Une fois au point, ce système permettra d’effectuer des observations quantitatives très contrôlées et d’obtenir une analyse pertinente des migrations cellulaires. Cette recherche est particulièrement importante en ce qu’elle révèle les mécanismes sous-jacents à la guérison des plaies, ainsi que d’autres fonctions cellulaires vitales.

Le stage que Song a effectué au Canada lui a donné l’occasion d’acquérir une expérience concrète en milieu de travail. Il ainsi pu obtenir un aperçu tangible du domaine de recherche qu’il choisira pour ses études supérieures.

À la recherche d’un traitement

Étudiant à la Faculté de génie biotechnologique de l’Instituto Tecnológico y de Estudios Superiores de Monterrey, à Guadalajara, au Mexique, Daniel est venu au Canada effectuer un stage de 12 semaines dans le cadre du programme Mitacs Globalink. Sous la direction du Dr Peter Eck, de la Faculté des sciences de la nutrition humaine, il participe à l’étude de gènes impliqués dans certaines maladies chroniques, comme le diabète de type 2.

Une expérience dynamique et diversifiée au Canada

Grâce au programme Mitacs Globalink, cet étudiant en génie civil de l’Institut indien de technologie (IIT) de Kanpur a mené avec le Dr Ehab Salakawy un projet de recherche consistant à effectuer des simulations afin de calculer la force portante de parois de ponts. Ces simulations visent à aider les ingénieurs civils municipaux à concevoir des structures plus résistantes et plus durables pour les ponts de partout au Canada.