Mitacs supports USask team developing unique harness to help save injured horses

“If this works, the potential impact will be huge because there are no long-term rehabilitation harnesses available on the market today,” said Dr. Julia Montgomery (Med Vet, PhD) at USask’s Western College of Veterinary Medicine, who leads the research.

The horse industry contributes more than $19 billion annually to the Canadian economy, according to a 2010 study by Equestrian Canada, and is responsible for more than 80,000 full-time jobs on farms and in horse racing and competitions.

Saskatchewan potash producer advances safety

So, when Nutrien, the world’s largest producer of crop inputs, services, and solutions was seeking some out-of-the-box solutions for a safety technology at their Saskatchewan potash mines, they turned to Mitacs to access top research talent.

The resulting collaboration with the University of Regina has produced a new computer algorithm that more accurately identifies potential hazards in the roof of a mined-out cavern—giving workers advanced notice so that they can deploy safety protocols in a timely manner.

Computer co-pilot helps you navigate changing streets

Now, one Mitacs intern is searching for a solution. Arvind Srinivasan is researching an algorithm that will integrate real-time changes into existing mapping programs. The new algorithm allows the app to seamlessly adjust your route — without interrupting the navigation. Normally, unexpected changes to the map require more processing power to integrate. The resulting algorithm is slower and less useful as a navigation tool.

A new voice for refugees in Canada

Canada has always welcomed refugees, but with the recent increase in volume the infrastructure has struggled to keep up. Small cities often lack sufficient resources, while refugees lack the skillset to integrate on their own. Sarah Alkholb has travelled from Saudi Arabia to Saskatoon this summer to address one facet of this problem. Working with Professor Hassan Vatanparast, she is researching the food security crisis facing newly landed refugee populations in Canada.

Brewing up innovation

Barley production, however, has declined over the past 15 years, as Canadian farmers lose ground to international competitors. International beer producers have a thirst for new varieties but Canada’s adoption process is slower than competitor countries. Australia and Germany bring new varietals of barley to market in five to seven years. In Canada, the same two strains have dominated the market for the past 20 years. 

Seeding frenzy

A few years later, that opportunity has allowed Joel to build a career for himself, and make developments that have benefitted the company and Canada’s agricultural sector.

“It was hardcore research,” says Joel, looking back on his internship. “Not just gathering data, but also looking at the results, drawing conclusions, and making recommendations directly to the general manager. It was more like a project as a professional than as an intern, and it definitely gave me a foot in the door.” Joel’s internship also led to the company filing a patent on some of his work.

Blown away: Brazilian intern takes her research to Saskatchewan wind farms

Luanna’s in Canada as a Mitacs Globalink intern where she’s collaborating with Professor Wei Peng on a project to make wind power more efficient.

“Ever since I was a teenager, I’ve had a love for renewable energy,” says Luanna. “When I read about this project, I jumped at the chance to take part in it and further my knowledge.”

International students explore U of S with Mitacs

After earning her undergraduate degree at Beijing China Agricultural University, Liu decided she wanted to explore a frostier environment for the next phase of her academic career.

“It’s kind of ridiculous, but I’d heard people saying it can turn to minus 30 or even 40 in the winter (in Saskatoon) and I really wished I could see those piles of snow,” Liu said, laughing.

Saskatchewan to battle absenteeism rates by linking health & wellness to productivity

Professor Lorna Butler and her team at the University of Saskatchewan’s College of Nursing and the International Centre for Northern Governance and Development aim to address this issue through a research partnership with the International Mineral Innovation Institute (IMII) and Mitacs’ Accelerate program.

Big data takes a shot at crime in Saskatchewan

But now, a partnership between a team of researchers from the University of Regina’s Department of Computer Science and ISM Canada is creating new tools using “big data” that can help to tackle crime on the streets using information from the virtual world.

Seeking a big data solution

Pages

La hutte de rat musqué

Connu également sous le nom de Wachusko weesti, le projet de la hutte de rat musqué a pour but de concevoir un prototype quatre saisons durable et assemblé localement comprenant une toilette à compostage, une douche/sauna, une source de chaleur, une source d’énergie (solaire et éolienne) et une cuisine.

Mitacs soutient une équipe de l’Université de la Saskatchewan qui développe un harnais unique pour aider à sauver les chevaux blessés

« Si cela fonctionne, l’impact potentiel sera énorme, parce qu’il n’existe aucun harnais de réadaptation à long terme disponible sur le marché aujourd’hui, » a dit la docteure Julia Montgomery (médecine vétérinaire) au Collège Western de médecine vétérinaire d’USask, qui dirige la recherche. 

L’industrie chevaline contribue plus de 19 milliards de dollars chaque année à l’économie canadienne, selon une étude de 2010 d’Equestrian Canada, et fournit plus de 80 000 emplois à temps plein dans les fermes et dans les domaines de la course de chevaux et des concours.

Un producteur de potasse de la Saskatchewan fait avancer la sécurité

Alors, quand Nutrien, le plus grand producteur d’intrants, de services et de solutions agricoles au monde, cherchait des solutions hors de l’ordinaire pour une technologie de sécurité dans ses mines de potasse en Saskatchewan, il s’est tourné vers Mitacs afin d’accéder au meilleur talent de recherche.

Un copilote informatique vous aide à naviguer les rues changeantes

Un stagiaire de Mitacs cherche maintenant une solution. Arvind Srinivasan cherche un algorithme qui intégrera des changements en temps réel dans des logiciels de cartographie existants. Le nouvel algorithme permet à l’application d’ajuster aisément votre route sans interrompre la navigation. Normalement, les changements imprévus à la carte exigent plus de puissance de traitement pour être intégrés.

Une nouvelle voix pour les réfugiés au Canada

Le Canada a toujours accueilli des réfugiés, mais en raison de la hausse récente du nombre de réfugiés, l’infrastructure a de la difficulté à suivre. Les petites villes manquent souvent de ressources, tandis que les réfugiés ne disposent pas de l’ensemble de compétences nécessaires pour s’intégrer. Sarah Alkholb est partie de l’Arabie saoudite pour se rendre à Saskatoon cet été afin d’aborder un des aspects de ce problème.

Brasser l’innovation

La production d’orge a toutefois diminué au cours des 15 dernières années alors que les agriculteurs canadiens ont perdu une part du marché face aux concurrents internationaux. Les producteurs internationaux de bière sont assoiffés de nouvelles variétés, mais le processus d’adoption du Canada est plus lent que celui des pays concurrents. L’Australie et l’Allemagne contribuent de nouvelles variétés d’orge au marché en cinq à sept ans. Au Canada, les deux mêmes souches dominent le marché depuis les vingt dernières années.

La folie des semis

 

Des années plus tard, cette occasion a permis à Joel de se bâtir une carrière et de faire des développements qui ont été bénéfiques pour l’entreprise et le secteur agricole du Canada.

Emportée par le vent : une stagiaire brésilienne se rend à Saskatchewan pour faire de la recherche sur les parcs éoliens

Luanna est au Canada à titre de stagiaire Mitacs Globalink et collabore avec le professeur Wei Peng sur un projet pour produire de l’énergie éolienne plus efficacement.

« Depuis que je suis adolescente, j’adore l’énergie renouvelable. Quand j’ai lu au sujet de ce projet, j’ai sauté sur l’occasion d’y participer et d’approfondir mes connaissances », raconte Luanna.  

Les étudiants étrangers explorent l’Université de la Saskatchewan grâce à Mitacs

Après l’obtention de son baccalauréat de la China Agricultural University, à Beijing, Liu a décidé qu’elle voulait faire l’expérience d’un climat plus glacial pour la prochaine étape de sa carrière universitaire.

« C’est fou, mais j’avais entendu des gens dire que le mercure pouvait atteindre moins 30 et même moins 40 en hiver (à Saskatoon) et je voulais vraiment voir ces montagnes de neige », dit-elle en riant.

La Saskatchewan combattra les taux d’absentéisme en reliant la santé et le bien-être à la productivité

La professeure Lorna Butler et son équipe du Collège des Sciences infirmières et de l’International Centre for Northern Governance and Development de l’Université de la Saskatchewan souhaitent aborder cette question à l’aide d’un partenariat de recherche avec l’International Mineral Innovation Institute (IMII) et le programme Mitacs Accélération.

Pages