Life-saving early detection of lung cancer is just a breath away

Screening for lung cancer may soon be as routine as having your blood pressure taken and as convenient as picking up your prescriptions, thanks to a breakthrough innovation by a Moncton-based company. 

As a result of the AI and machine learning expertise of University of New Brunswick biomedical engineering master’s student and Mitacs intern Robyn Larracy, biotech firm Picomole Inc. has developed a first-of-its-kind screening tool that makes lung cancer detection as simple as breathing into a tube. The innovation is expected to be commercialized as early as 2024. 

Tech pioneer traces roots through partnership

A recipient of the World Economic Forum 2015 Technology Pioneer Award, Vancouver-based quantum computing company 1QBit is a leader among the most promising technology companies. The company works closely with Fortune 500 clients and leading hardware providers to solve problems in the areas of optimization, simulation, and machine learning. 

Collaboration with biotech incubator creates jobs for researchers

For Toronto-based Dose Biosystems, a focus on researching and developing the next generation of probiotics brings a hiring challenge: finding and onboarding highly specialized talent. Coming directly from doctoral programs, new employees encounter an unfamiliar environment that requires new skills and different ways of working.

Pivoting from bones to bread during COVID-19

Across Canada, businesses and organizations grappling with the impact of COVID-19 are getting support from an unexpected resource: top local business students.

Thanks to the recently launched Business Strategy Internship (BSI) program, Mitacs helps match students from top schools with employers looking for support to manage and grow their operations in an environment disrupted by the pandemic.

Best gift ever: a fully staffed lab-in-a-box

There are few words more painful to imagine than “your child has cancer.”

Overhearing these life-altering words prompted Mitacs research intern Taylor Jamieson-Datzkiw to pursue a career in pediatric oncology — that is, cancer treatments for children and young adults.

Using 3D printing to accelerate production of protective gear during COVID-19

With the onset of the COVID-19 crisis, CAMufacturing Solutions Inc. knew they needed to bring their expertise in additive manufacturing, or 3D printing, to support the rising demand for quick production of personnel protective equipment (PPE) for the health care community.

Young entrepreneurs improve medical storage for reliable transportation

As of May 27, 2020, there have been 2,925,466 infected COVID-19 patients reported worldwide, with a total of 355,727 deaths. The rapid progression of the COVID-19 pandemic has raised concerns regarding the short supply of medical equipment needed to control the rate of transmission and mortality. In most developing countries, transporting vaccines can be difficult without the proper storage technologies, since vaccines and equipment can spoil in high temperatures.

Mitacs research fellow helps pivot decontamination from fruit to N95 masks

When postdoctoral fellow Mahdiyeh Hasani of University of Guelph came to Canada in 2017 and began working with Professor Keith Warriner to decontaminate produce, she had no idea that in just a few years COVID-19 would dramatically change the world — and the impact of her research.

How Internet of Things can support radio infrastructure

In urgent situations like natural disasters — or even the current pandemic — Canadian first-response teams rely on mobile radio systems to communicate in a fast and secure way. Manufacturers globally also use radio systems in their production plants. Enabling radio communications requires a complex infrastructure with hundreds of thousands of radio repeater sites spread across North America and the globe.

Intern works to protect IP for COVID-19 vaccine development

According to the Public Health Agency of Canada, the total number of COVID-19 cases reached a high of 71,486 as of May 13, 2020 — with Ontario and Quebec collectively accounting for 83% of all cases and 92% of the Canadian death toll. With a mortality rate of 3.4%, COVID-19 has created an unprecedented — and growing — demand for a vaccine.

Pages

Un pionnier de la technologie trace ses racines à un partenariat

Récipiendaire du prix Pionnier de la technologie 2015 du Forum économique mondial, la société d’informatique quantique 1QBit de Vancouver figure parmi les entreprises technologiques les plus prometteuses. L’entreprise travaille en étroite collaboration avec des clients qui font partie du palmarès Fortune 500 et d’importants fournisseurs de matériel afin de résoudre des problèmes dans les domaines de l’optimisation, de la simulation et de l’apprentissage machine.

Une collaboration avec un incubateur de biotechnologie crée des emplois en recherche

Pour l’entreprise torontoise Dose Biosystems, se concentrer sur la recherche et le développement de la prochaine génération de probiotiques soulève un défi en matière de recrutement : trouver et intégrer du personnel hautement spécialisé. Lorsqu’elles viennent directement des programmes de doctorat, les nouvelles recrues font face à un environnement inconnu qui requiert de nouvelles compétences et des façons de travailler différentes.

Du pain au lieu des os pendant la pandémie

Partout au Canada, des entreprises et des organismes qui doivent faire face aux répercussions de la COVID‑19 bénéficient du soutien d’une ressource inattendue : les meilleurs étudiants en affaires de la région.

Le plus beau cadeau du monde : un laboratoire clés en main

Difficile d’imaginer des mots plus durs à entendre que : « votre enfant a un cancer ».

C’est en assistant à de telles annonces bouleversantes que la stagiaire de recherche de Mitacs Taylor Jamieson-Datzkiw a décidé de faire carrière en oncologie pédiatrique, c’est-à-dire dans les traitements contre le cancer destinés aux enfants et aux jeunes adultes.

L’impression 3D accélère la production d’équipement de protection durant la COVID-19

Avec l’apparition de la crise liée à la COVID-19, l’entreprise CAMufacturing Solutions inc. a su qu’elle devait apporter son expertise en fabrication additive, ou impression 3D, afin de faire face à la demande croissante de production rapide d’équipement de protection individuelle (EPI) pour le personnel de soins de santé.

De jeunes entrepreneurs améliorent l’entreposage de fournitures médicales pour un transport sécuritaire

Au 27 mai 2020, on dénombrait 2 925 466 cas de patients infectés par la COVID-19 à travers le monde et un total de 355 727 décès. La progression rapide de la pandémie de COVID-19 a soulevé des préoccupations concernant les pénuries d’équipement médical nécessaire afin de contrôler les taux de transmission et de mortalité. Dans la plupart des pays en développement, le transport des vaccins peut s’avérer complexe en l’absence de technologies d’entreposage adaptées, car les vaccins et l’équipement peuvent être endommagés par températures élevées.

Une chercheuse de Mitacs aide à adapter un décontaminant de fruits aux masques N95

Lorsque la chercheuse postdoctorale Mahdiyeh Hasani de l’Université de Guelph est arrivée au Canada en 2017 et a commencé à travailler avec le professeur Keith Warriner à la mise au point d’un produit pour décontaminer les fruits et légumes frais, elle ne pouvait pas prédire que seulement quelques années plus tard, la COVID-19 changerait profondément le monde, et l’incidence de sa recherche.

Comment l’Internet des objets peut appuyer les infrastructures radio

En cas de situation d’urgence comme une catastrophe naturelle, ou la pandémie actuelle, les équipes de premiers secours canadiennes utilisent des systèmes de radio mobile pour communiquer rapidement et de manière sécurisée. Partout dans le monde, les fabricants utilisent également des systèmes radio dans leurs usines de production. Pour fonctionner, les communications radio nécessitent une infrastructure complexe comprenant des centaines de milliers de stations de répéteurs radio dans toute l’Amérique du Nord et à travers le monde.

Un stagiaire cherche à protéger la propriété intellectuelle liée au développement d’un vaccin contre la COVID-19

Selon l’Agence de la santé publique du Canada, on compte un total de 71 486 cas de COVID-19 au 13 mai 2020, dont 83 % en Ontario et au Québec, des provinces qui déplorent à elles deux 92 % du nombre total de décès au pays. Avec un taux de mortalité de 3,4 %, la COVID-19 a créé une demande sans précédent — et croissante — de vaccin.

Le bien-être des personnes atteintes de déficience intellectuelle et développementale

Située au Manitoba, St.Amant est une fondation qui soutient près de 2 000 enfants et adultes atteints de déficience intellectuelle et développementale et d’autisme. En 2014, la Fondation St.Amant a lancé son programme de transitions communautaires à travers lequel elle proposait des possibilités de vie en communauté aux personnes qui vivaient dans les établissements de soins en résidence gérés par St.Amant.

Pages