Fueling Cars, Lighting Up Towns – On A Battery

Timing is everything. In cleantech innovation, it’s the difference between leading and falling behind. For Professor Martin Ordonez’s team at the UBC Department of Electrical & Computer Engineering who work in power electronics and conversion, one of the ways of being ahead is developing clean energy through research in renewable electric vehicles (EV) and power storage.

Calgary-based spin-off turns green idea to gold

On the heels of news that global carbon dioxide (CO2) emissions are soaring to record-breaking levels not seen in 800,000 years, Calgary-based SeeO2 Energy is working to reverse the trend. With the launch of its invention that converts greenhouse-gas emissions into high-value fuels and chemicals before they are released into the environment, founders Drs. Paul Addo and Beatriz Molero Sanchez take pride in helping to improve their world.

‘Lone wolf’ terrorism could face extinction thanks to new computer software

Karthik, an undergraduate student at National Institute of Technology in Hamirpur in India, has joined Associate Professor Andrew Park this summer for a 12-week Mitacs Globalink research internship. He’s helping to develop an algorithm that can accurately and precisely identify the most likely location of a potential sniper attack on a public gathering.

Celebrating 1,500 interns in 2018 and 20 years together

Mitacs internships facilitate connections between university students and non-academic partners across Canada. Partner organizations get the immense benefit of high-quality, rigorous research support and access to ground-breaking knowledge from academia—which may be inaccessible otherwise. Highly-skilled students get to apply their research expertise beyond their academic settings, while also building important skills and connections that serve them after graduation.

Mitacs supports USask team developing unique harness to help save injured horses

“If this works, the potential impact will be huge because there are no long-term rehabilitation harnesses available on the market today,” said Dr. Julia Montgomery (Med Vet, PhD) at USask’s Western College of Veterinary Medicine, who leads the research.

The horse industry contributes more than $19 billion annually to the Canadian economy, according to a 2010 study by Equestrian Canada, and is responsible for more than 80,000 full-time jobs on farms and in horse racing and competitions.

New Brunswick company fights food invaders, naturally

“Consumers and companies alike are looking for safe and natural ways to keep their products fresher for longer,” says Natasha, CEO of Chinova Bioworks. “But labels full of unpronounceable, artificial ingredients can turn consumers off. It was important to me to create an alternative to the chemical preservatives normally found in food and beverage products.”

While conceptualizing the product, Natasha was searching for someone to take it to the next level — and she knew that Mitacs was available to help fledgling companies like hers.

Mitacs Entrepreneur Awards: Making an impact on wastewater treatment

Boost Environmental Systems is working to safeguard water quality around the world through the commercialization of a novel approach to treating dairy farm manure and sewage sludge. Called IMPACT, the breakthrough technology is solving urgent problems facing the worldwide agricultural and wastewater treatment industries and is positioning Canada as a frontrunner is clean tech solutions for sustainable waste management.

Sweeter dreams are on the horizon thanks to a Halifax researcher and entrepreneur

With the help of his Dalhousie Accelerate supervisors, Professor David Roach from the Rowe School of Business, and Professor Jan Haelssig from the Faculty of Engineering, Hamed has started a company to develop technology that will make continuous positive airway pressure (CPAP) therapy more comfortable for patients.

Cracking the genetic code of high performance athletes

As a former varsity athlete and PhD scholar in biochemistry and molecular biology, Jeremy has always balanced a passion for sport with his profession as a genetics researcher. The idea of combining the two into a company began to take shape during a Mitacs Accelerate internship.

From research to robots

“These people were my heroes,” he said. “I knew that I wanted to follow in their footsteps one day.”

And he did.  At the age of 20, he invented an electronic system to control lighting in luxury houses with the use of a remote. Shortly after, he created an electro-mechanical device that could be installed on the wheels of bikes and vehicles which emitted pulsating lights to increase safety and visibility at night and sold 3,000 units.

Pages

Une entreprise dérivée de Calgary transforme une idée verte en or

Dans la foulée de la nouvelle selon laquelle les émissions mondiales de dioxyde de carbone (CO2) augmentent à des niveaux record jamais vus en 800 000 ans, SeeO2 Energy, une entreprise de Calgary, cherche à renverser la vapeur. Avec le lancement de son invention qui transforme les émissions de gaz à effet de serre en produits chimiques et en combustibles de grande valeur avant leur rejet dans l'environnement, les fondateurs Paul Addo et Beatriz Molero Sanchez sont fiers de contribuer à améliorer le monde.

Alimenter les voitures et éclairer les villes – sur pile

Tout est dans le choix du moment. Dans le cadre de l’innovation de technologies propres, il s'agit de la différence entre être chef de file et se laisser distancer.

Le terrorisme « loup solitaire » pourrait être en voie d’extinction grâce à un nouveau logiciel

M. Vedantham, un étudiant de premier cycle au National Institute of Technology à Hamirpur en Inde, s’est joint au professeur associé Andrew Park cet été pour un stage de recherche Mitacs Globalink de 12 semaines. Il aide à développer un algorithme qui peut identifier de façon correcte et avec précision l’endroit le plus probable d’une attaque par tireur sur un événement public.

Célébration de 1 500 stagiaires en 2018 et de 20 ans de collaboration

Les stages de Mitacs facilitent les liens entre des étudiants de l’université et des partenaires non universitaires à travers le Canada. Les organismes partenaires obtiennent l’immense avantage du soutien en recherche de haute qualité et rigoureux et accèdent à des connaissances avant-gardistes du milieu postsecondaire, qui pourraient ne pas être accessibles autrement.

Mitacs soutient une équipe de l’Université de la Saskatchewan qui développe un harnais unique pour aider à sauver les chevaux blessés

« Si cela fonctionne, l’impact potentiel sera énorme, parce qu’il n’existe aucun harnais de réadaptation à long terme disponible sur le marché aujourd’hui, » a dit la docteure Julia Montgomery (médecine vétérinaire) au Collège Western de médecine vétérinaire d’USask, qui dirige la recherche. 

L’industrie chevaline contribue plus de 19 milliards de dollars chaque année à l’économie canadienne, selon une étude de 2010 d’Equestrian Canada, et fournit plus de 80 000 emplois à temps plein dans les fermes et dans les domaines de la course de chevaux et des concours.

Une entreprise du Nouveau-Brunswick lutte contre les envahisseurs alimentaires de façon naturelle

 

« Tant les consommateurs que les entreprises recherchent des façons sécuritaires et naturelles de conserver la fraîcheur de leurs produits, dit Natasha, chef de la direction de Chinova Bioworks. Mais les étiquettes pleines d’ingrédients imprononçables et artificiels peuvent être difficiles à comprendre pour les consommateurs. Il était important pour moi de créer une solution de rechange aux agents de conservation chimiques qui sont normalement utilisés dans les produits alimentaires et les boissons. »

De beaux rêves sont à l’horizon grâce à un chercheur et entrepreneur de Halifax

Une entreprise locale en démarrage améliorera le traitement de l’apnée du sommeil pour des millions d’utilisateurs

 

Avec l’aide de ses superviseurs Accélération de l’Université Dalhousie, le professeur David Roach de la Rowe School of Business et le professeur Jan Haelssig de la faculté de génie, Hamed a lancé une entreprise pour développer une technologie qui rendra la thérapie de ventilation spontanée en pression positive continue (CPAP) plus confortable pour les patients.

Décoder le code génétique des athlètes de haut niveau

Comme ancien athlète universitaire et détenteur d’un doctorat en biochimie et biologie moléculaire, Jeremy a toujours eu une passion équilibrée entre le sport et sa profession de chercheur en génétique. L’idée de combiner les deux dans une entreprise a commencé à prendre forme pendant un stage Mitacs Accélération.

De la recherche aux robots

« Ces gens étaient mes héros », avoue-t-il. « Je savais que je suivrais un jour leur exemple. »

Et c’est ce qu’il a fait.  À l’âge de 20 ans, il a inventé un système électronique pour contrôler l’éclairage dans des résidences luxueuses au moyen d’une télécommande. Peu après, il a créé un dispositif électromécanique qui s’installe sur les roues de vélo et de véhicule et qui émet des impulsions lumineuses pour accroître la visibilité et la sécurité la nuit; il en a vendu 3 000 unités.

Communication de l’information scientifique

« Je savais qu’il y avait une meilleure façon de faire », affirme-t-il. « Il existait sûrement un moyen d’inciter les étudiants à utiliser la technologie. »

Pages