Canada’s first self-driving truck company disrupts how goods are moved

A global pandemic didn’t stop Toronto entrepreneur Raghavender Sahdev from innovating. On the contrary, he spent the time propelling his start-up, NuPort Robotics, Canada’s first autonomous trucking company, which will help advance Canada’s trucking industry far into the future by using eco-friendly, self-driving electric trucks for short-haul shuttle runs between distribution centres, warehouses, and ports.

Researching how algorithms ‘fail’ at the University of Hawai’i at Mānoa

During her undergrad studies at the University of Calgary, Taylor Markham found her passion for mathematics and how cryptography demonstrates the use of mathematical concepts in everyday life applications.

In 2019, she was the first Faculty of Science student at the University of Calgary to apply for the Mitacs Globalink Research Award. Through this program, Markham spent her final summer as an undergrad student conducting research at the University of Hawai’i at Mānoa, where she was supervised by Annie Carter in the Department of Mathematics and Statistics.

Special bracelet provides key to COVID-19 monitoring and contact tracing

As of July 27, 2020, the number of COVID-19 confirmed cases worldwide reached 16.3 million people, with 114,000 cases in Canada. About two to eight percent of COVID-19 cases experience severe symptoms that lead to respiratory distress, organ failure, and even death. Currently, regular medical checkups consist of one-on-one phone calls to monitor the patient’s vital signs remotely.

App helps translate stories in multiple Indigenous languages

When we think of using technology to translate, clunky Google Translate phrases come to mind. Therefore, when it comes to carefully translating a story from one language to another, using technology may be a stretch. Add the nuances of cultural context to the equation, and the task becomes an even more complex challenge.

What do researchers do when stuck abroad? Work on a COVID-19 vaccine

When Gurudeeban Selvaraj and Satyavani Kaliamurthi came to Canada in 2019, they had no idea they would be creating both a preventative vaccine and a curing drug to address the millennium’s biggest pandemic.

Can cannabinoids be grown in algae? Yes — according to Mitacs-supported research team

Professor Isabel Desgagné-Penix and her team at the Université du Québec à Trois-Rivières are the first to demonstrate that cannabinoids can be successfully grown in microalgae by a process called metabolic engineering.

The process of metabolic engineering extracts the genes responsible for cannabinoid production from cannabis plants and inserts them into algae, creating a type of cannabis surrogacy in algae.

From Tunisia to Canada: Mitacs intern works to improve voice recognition technology

Semah Aissaoui’s journey with Mitacs began in summer 2018 as an undergraduate in Tunisia when he first came to Canada as a Globalink research intern. He progressed on to receive the Mitacs Globalink Graduate Fellowship and attend graduate school at Polytechnique Montréal in Canada with the award. He now works with Fluent.ai on a Mitacs Accelerate award, researching how to remove background noise and reverberation from sound signals to enhance the accuracy of offline voice-activated devices.

It’s alive! Improved methods for growing human cells can lead to new cures

That’s why Mitacs Globalink students Friederike Floegel from Germany and Mireya Cervantes González from Mexico joined Professor Frampton’s lab at Dalhousie University in Halifax this summer. They had the opportunity to advance two new approaches for culturing cells that better replicate human tissue.

Friederike created temperature-responsive coatings to produce cells that can be detached to study the specific behaviour of cancer cells; and the coating will also make them easier to reproduce.

User-friendly app for gauging autism

Autism spectrum disorder refers to a broad range of conditions characterized by challenges with social skills, repetitive behaviours, speech, and nonverbal communication. This once misunderstood disorder affects a broad range of communications skills and behaviours.

According to Public Health Agency Canada, one in 66 Canadian children are diagnosed with autism.

Adding Rock ‘n’ Roll So Buildings Withstand Earthquakes

Although an earthquake can devastate in a few short seconds, restoration and reconstruction can take years to complete. In the 2011 Christchurch, New Zealand earthquake, there were only two major building collapses, yet 70 per cent of the city’s downtown had to be demolished because buildings were deemed uninhabitable. Restoration took five years. Earthquake recovery costs are huge. According to an Insurance Board of Canada study, an earthquake either in BC or Quebec would be nearly ten times as costly as the Fort McMurray fires, which cost over $8 billion.

Pages

La première entreprise de camionnage autonome au Canada révolutionne le transport de marchandises

La pandémie mondiale n’a pas empêché l’entrepreneur torontois Raghavender Sahdev d’innover. Bien au contraire, il a mis à profit son temps pour propulser son entreprise en démarrage NuPort Robotics, la première entreprise de camionnage autonome au pays, qui aidera à faire progresser l’industrie canadienne du camionnage en utilisant des véhicules électriques écoresponsables sans conducteur pour faire la navette sur de courtes distances entre les centres de distribution, les entrepôts et les ports.

Recherche sur les algorithmes qui « échouent » à l’Université d’Hawai’i à Mānoa

Pendant ses études de premier cycle à l’Université de Calgary, Taylor Markham a découvert sa passion pour les mathématiques et la façon dont la cryptographie démontre l’utilisation de concepts mathématiques dans des applications quotidiennes.

Un bracelet spécial de surveillance à la COVID-19 et de suivi de contacts

Depuis le 27 juillet 2020, le nombre de cas de COVID-19 confirmés à travers le monde a atteint 16,3 millions de personnes, dont 114 000 cas au Canada. Entre deux et huit pour cent des cas de COVID-19 comportent des symptômes sévères qui mènent à la détresse respiratoire, à la défaillance des organes et même à la mort. Actuellement, les suivis médicaux réguliers se composent d’appels téléphoniques individuels afin de contrôler les signes vitaux du patient à distance.

Une application aide à traduire des histoires dans des langues autochtones

Lorsqu’on parle d’utiliser la technologie pour traduire, on pense immédiatement aux phrases maladroites de Google Traduction. S’appuyer sur la technologie pour traduire avec soin une histoire d’une langue à une autre peut donc sembler quelque peu ambitieux. Ajoutez à l’équation les nuances du contexte culturel, et la tâche devient encore plus ardue.

Des chercheurs bloqués à l’étranger travaillent sur un vaccin à la COVID

Lorsque Gurudeeban Selvaraj et Satyavani Kaliamurthi sont arrivés au Canada en 2019, ils ne se doutaient pas qu’ils mettraient au point un vaccin préventif ainsi qu’un médicament pour lutter contre la plus grande pandémie du millénaire.

Les cannabinoïdes peuvent-ils pousser dans des algues? Selon une équipe de recherche appuyée par Mitacs, la réponse est oui!

La professeure Isabel Desgagné-Penix et son équipe de l’Université du Québec à Trois-Rivières ont été les premiers à démontrer que les cannabinoïdes pouvaient pousser avec succès dans des microalgues à l’aide d’un processus appelé ingénierie métabolique.

Le processus d’ingénierie métabolique consiste à extraire des plants de cannabis les gènes responsables de la production de cannabinoïdes, puis à les insérer dans des algues, créant ainsi un bouillon de culture pour les cannabinoïdes dans ces algues.

De la Tunisie au Canada : un stagiaire de Mitacs cherche à améliorer la technologie de reconnaissance de la parole

Le parcours de Semah Aissaoui aux côtés de Mitacs a commencé durant l’été 2018 : il était alors étudiant de premier cycle en Tunisie lorsqu’il est venu pour la première fois au Canada en tant que stagiaire de recherche Globalink. Il a ensuite été admis au programme Bourse aux cycles supérieurs Mitacs Globalink grâce auquel il a pu fréquenter l’établissement d’études supérieures Polytechnique Montréal au Canada. Il travaille aujourd’hui avec Fluent.ai dans le cadre d’une bourse Mitacs Accélération.

Elle vit! Des méthodes améliorées de culture de cellules humaines peuvent mener à de nouveaux traitements

C’est pourquo i les étudiantes Mitacs Globalink Friederike Floegel d’Allemagne et Mireya Cervantes González du Mexique se sont jointes au laboratoire du professeur Frampt on à l’Université Dalhousie à Halifax cet été. Elles ont eu l’occasion de faire progresser deux nouvelles approches de culture de cellules qui dupliquent mieux les tissus humains.

Friederike a créé des pellicules sensibles à la température pour produire des cellules qui peuvent être détachées pour étudier le comportement spécifique de cellules de cancer; et la pellicule les rendra plus faciles à reproduire.

Une application conviviale pour mesurer l’autisme

Le trouble du spectre de l’autisme renvoie à une vaste gamme de conditions caractérisées par des difficultés associées aux aptitudes sociales, aux comportements répétitifs, à la parole et à la communication non verbale. Ce trouble jadis mécompris touche une large gamme de compétences et de comportements de communication.

Selon l’Agence de la santé publique du Canada, un enfant canadien sur 66 reçoit un diagnostic d’autisme.

S'inspirer du rock 'n' roll pour accroître la résistance des immeubles aux tremblements de terre

En soumettant le bois à des essais sous contrainte, on améliore les chances de restauration après un désastre.

Pages