Researchers attack spruce budworm using chemistry

A recent outbreak of spruce budworm infestation in Quebec contributed to millions of dollars in lost revenue potential for Canada’s lumber industry and threatened forests in northern New Brunswick. This prompted researchers at the University of New Brunswick (UNB) and Carleton University to partner in the development of solutions to ward off the forest pest.

Research into Quebec’s rivers aims to improve Atlantic salmon habitats

This summer, Globalink intern Piyush Rai is working alongside Dr. Normand Bergeron at Université INRS to better understand how improved culvert design can positively impact the migration and survival of Atlantic salmon.

Food safety gets a boost thanks to development of allergen detectors

With no surefire method of detection, people with serious food allergies must avoid certain foods altogether; however, a project at the University of Guelph is increasing food safety by helping to detect allergens well before an item ends up on consumers’ plates.

Research at Wilfrid Laurier University explores migrant women’s challenges

As luck would have it, Denisse got an email from her university’s international office, sharing the opportunity to come to Canada for a Globalink Research Internship. Denisse — curious about the country after taking a class in North American culture — applied to several projects with a gender studies component, and was matched with Dr. Jenna Hennebry, Director of Wilfrid Laurier University’s International Migration Research Centre in Waterloo, Ontario.

Smart technology advances safety and comfort in the home

Aymen Djebbi, a Mitacs Globalink research intern from Tunisia, thinks he has an answer.  In collaboration with researchers at the Université de Sherbrooke, Aymen is helping to develop smart home technology this summer.

Self-replicating technology will enable a new era of space exploration

During his 12-week internship, Leonardo is helping develop a self-replicating, solar-powered, 3-D printing machine for the moon that can mine lunar bedrock — like dust, soil, and broken rocks — extract the raw materials, and input them into a series of 3-D printers. The printer is then able to construct its own parts that can be used in future space settlements or shipped back to earth. 

Anthropologist studies Indigenous land use

“I have always been interested in anthropology, particularly Indigenous ethnography, and how certain forces are trying to homogenize them. The researcher plays a critical role in these kinds of studies, as he or she needs to experience these communities by being in them,” she explains. “Anthropology exists in the space where one culture collides with another.” She’s putting that passion to work at the Universidade Federal do Rio de Janeiro (UFRJ).

New indoor mapping app helps you find your groceries

What if there was an app on your phone that could tell you which aisle to look in, and could give you specific directions to the product from your location within the store?

Chemistry and physics research to improve drinking water in remote communities

After a rigorous exam, she was accepted into the École Supérieure de Physique et de Chimie Industrielles de la Ville de Paris. The school encourages its students to pursue research internships domestically and abroad, and after completing an internship in the United States, Clémentine was curious about pursuing further research abroad.

Previous Alberta floods to provide essential data for prediction software

Electricity, water supplies, communication networks, and public transportation were totally shut down. When her parents were unable to get home, Ashwini knew she wanted to do something to better warn people.

This summer, Ashwini has travelled to Canada through the Mitacs Globalink program to do research with Dr. Jennifer He at the University of Calgary’s Schulich School of Engineering. Their research focuses on using weather forecasts to predict extreme events such as floods and develop suitable warning times.

Pages

Carte postale du Brésil : la gestion des ressources en eau en Porto Seguro

Réaffiché avec l’autorisation de What WE Have to Say, le blogue d’ingénierie de l’Université Western

Carte postale du Brésil : appliquer l’analyse de données aux clubs de soccer brésiliens

Lorsque j’ai informé mon mentor en affaires que j’étais à la recherche d’une occasion unique qui s’alignait bien avec mes études, il m’a dit : « Pourquoi ne vas-tu pas à l’étranger? » Avant que j’aie eu l’occasion de lui répondre, il me parla de la Bourse de recherche Mitacs Globalink et ce ne fut pas long pour que je sois épris de l’idée.

Des chercheurs utilisent la chimie pour s’attaquer à la tordeuse des bourgeons de l’épinette

Dans l’est de l’Amérique du Nord, les forêts sont de plus en plus menacées par la prolifération de la tordeuse des bourgeons de l’épinette. En dévorant les épines, les cônes et les fleurs, la tordeuse des bourgeons de l’épinette affaiblit le bois des sapins baumiers et des épinettes, ce qui les rend sensibles aux maladies et à la mort.

Une recherche sur des rivières du Québec a pour but d’améliorer les habitats du saumon de l’Atlantique

Cet été, Piyush Rai, un stagiaire Globalink, travaille en collaboration avec Normand Bergeron, à l’Université INRS afin de mieux comprendre comment une conception améliorée des ponceaux peut avoir une incidence positive sur la migration et la survie du saumon de l’Atlantique.

La mise au point de détecteurs d’allergènes favorise la sécurité des aliments

Puisqu’aucune méthode de détection n’est infaillible, les personnes souffrant de graves allergies alimentaires doivent complètement éviter certains aliments; toutefois, un projet à l’Université de Guelph améliore la sécurité alimentaire en facilitant la détection des allergènes bien avant qu’ils se retrouvent dans l’assiette des consommateurs.

Une recherche à l’Université Wilfrid-Laurier explore les défis des femmes immigrantes

Par le plus grand des hasards, Denisse a reçu un courriel du bureau international de son université qui parlait d’une occasion de venir au Canada pour un stage de recherche Globalink. Denisse — curieuse à propos du pays après avoir pris un cours sur la culture de l’Amérique du Nord — a postulé sur plusieurs projets ayant une composante d’études de genre et fut jumelée à Mme Jenna Hennebry, Directrice du International Migration Research Centre [centre international de recherche sur l’immigration] de l’Université Wilfrid-Laurier à Waterloo, Ontario.

La technologie intelligente fait progresser la sécurité et le confort à la maison

Aymen Djebbi, un stagiaire de recherche Mitacs Globalink de la Tunisie pense qu'il a la réponse.  En collaboration avec des chercheurs à l'Université de Sherbrooke, Aymen aide à développer de la technologie « intelligente » pour les maisons cet été.

La technologie autoréplicable permettra une nouvelle ère d’exploration spatiale

Au cours de son stage de 12 semaines, Leonardo aide à développer une imprimante 3-D solaire, autoréplicable pour la lune qui peut miner le sous-sol rocheux lunaire — comme la poussière, la terre et des morceaux de roches — extraire des matières premières et les insérer dans une série d’imprimantes 3-D. L’imprimante est par la suite capable de construire ses propres morceaux qui peuvent être utilisés dans les colonies spatiales de l’avenir ou retournés vers la terre.

Une anthropologue étudie l’utilisation de la terre par les Autochtones afin de comprendre son importance culturelle

« J’ai toujours été intéressée par l’anthropologie, surtout l’ethnographie autochtone, et comment certaines forces tentent de les homogénéiser. Le chercheur joue un rôle essentiel dans ce genre d’études, puisqu’il ou elle doit expérimenter ces communautés en étant dans celles-ci, » explique-t-elle. « L’anthropologie existe dans l’espace où une culture entre en collision avec une autre. » Elle met cette passion au travail à l’Universidade Federal do Rio de Janeiro (UFRJ).

Une nouvelle application de cartographie intérieure vous aide à trouver votre épicerie

Comment serait-ce d’avoir une application sur votre téléphone qui pourrait vous dire dans quelle allée regarder et qui pourrait vous donner des instructions spécifiques pour vous rendre au produit à partir de votre emplacement dans le magasin?

Pages