Student work for start-up making waves in maritime innovation

Founded by a pair of Dalhousie University alumni of the materials engineering program, Nova Scotia-based Graphite Innovation and Technologies (GIT) is providing opportunities for Dalhousie graduate students to put their research experience into practice through Mitacs internships.  

Increasing food security for Northwest BC Indigenous communities

When the COVID-19 pandemic hit, food insecurity issues were only exacerbated for Nisga’a members living on Coastal Ts’msyen Territories in northwestern BC, Prince Rupert, and Port Edward communities.

Even before the crisis, there were pressing challenges in addressing food security. For the past three years, the North Coast Innovation Lab, a place-based initiative by Ecotrust Canada, and the Gitmaxmak’ay Nisga’a Society, a social enterprise that supports members of the Nisga’a Nation living in Prince Rupert, collaborated on a Mitacs-funded project.

Robot generates images to prepare the soil for the future of agriculture

Researchers from the University of Winnipeg (UWinnipeg) and the University of Saskatchewan (USask) have taken on an ambitious challenge: build the ground for the next revolution in global farming and food production. With support from George Weston Limited and Mitacs, the team is filling a gap within the digital agriculture field by building a robotic system to create an open dataset of Canadian prairie crop plants and weeds.

Returning vegetation to Yukon mines with Indigenous knowledge and data

Did you know that Canadian mining companies need to plan for a mine closure even before the production starts? This process — called mine reclamation — involves outlining how land, water, and even cultural resources will be restored, and is the focus of the work of Mitacs Accelerate intern Krystal Isbister, a PhD candidate in the Department of Renewable Resources of the University of Alberta (U of A).

Canada’s first self-driving truck company disrupts how goods are moved

A global pandemic didn’t stop Toronto entrepreneur Raghavender Sahdev from innovating. On the contrary, he spent the time propelling his start-up, NuPort Robotics, Canada’s first autonomous trucking company, which will help advance Canada’s trucking industry far into the future by using eco-friendly, self-driving electric trucks for short-haul shuttle runs between distribution centres, warehouses, and ports.

A community-based approach to managing impacts in northwest BC

Long before hosting the second largest port in the Pacific, the territory around Prince Rupert, British Columbia, was home to the Metlakatla First Nation. Rich in resources and with a history of productive economic opportunities, this region has gone through many changes as a result of development projects and human activities, impacting not only the environment, but the wellbeing of the community.

Intern works to protect IP for COVID-19 vaccine development

According to the Public Health Agency of Canada, the total number of COVID-19 cases reached a high of 71,486 as of May 13, 2020 — with Ontario and Quebec collectively accounting for 83% of all cases and 92% of the Canadian death toll. With a mortality rate of 3.4%, COVID-19 has created an unprecedented — and growing — demand for a vaccine.

Using an autonomous bus to reduce food insecurity

Near downtown Montréal, the Little Burgundy neighbourhood reveals many contrasts. In the south, it touches the Lachine Canal, a beautiful 14-kilometre cycling and pedestrian pathway that sees millions of visitors every year. In the north, it is bordered by the busy and grey Ville-Marie Expressway. One of the most multicultural communities in the city, Little Burgundy is home to upscale restaurants and boutiques, but also to a vulnerable population that struggles with food insecurity.

Intern works to advance global health and COVID-19 solutions

With the spread of COVID-19, a leading University of Alberta research team has developed an innovative coating capable of killing viruses.

Feeling warm outside? Look at the buildings around you

Imagine you’re having lunch on a courtyard patio downtown. It’s a crisp, sunny autumn day with a light breeze. Your table is against a south-facing brick wall that is bathed in sunlight and there’s a row of tall bushes at the edge of the patio that break the wind. You wore a jacket to the restaurant but after sitting for a few minutes, you’re warm enough to take it off and enjoy the sunshine on your bare arms.

Pages

Une stagiaire tente de simplifier la détection d’arsenic dans l’eau de consommation

Dans le but de réduire le risque de contamination par l’arsenic de l’eau de consommation, l’étudiante en génie chimique, Andrea Green, aide un laboratoire de l’Université de Victoria (Uvic) à créer un test de détection rapide, abordable et fiable effectué au moyen d’un téléphone cellulaire, et ce, dans le confort de son foyer à Atlanta, en Géorgie.

Les drones intelligents d’une stagiaire de l’Inde règlent un problème agricole

Les fermetures de frontières et les restrictions de voyages internationaux en raison de la pandémie de COVID-19 n’empêchent pas certains des meilleurs talents du monde de collaborer avec des chercheuses et chercheurs du Canada cet été.

Un étudiant fait des vagues dans l’innovation maritime pour une entreprise en démarrage

Fondée par deux anciens étudiants du programme de génie des matériaux de l’Université Dalhousie, l’entreprise Graphite Innovation and Technologies (GIT), établie en Nouvelle-Écosse, offre aux étudiants des cycles supérieurs de l’Université Dalhousie la possibilité de mettre en pratique leur expérience de la recherche grâce à des stages Mitacs.  

La sécurité alimentaire des communautés autochtones du nord-ouest de la C.-B.

Lorsque la pandémie de COVID-19 a frappé, elle n’a fait qu’exacerber les problèmes d’insécurité alimentaire pour les membres de la Nation Nisga’a habitant dans les territoires Coast Ts’msyen du nord-ouest de la C.-B., dans les communautés de Prince Rupert et de Port Edward.

Un robot crée des images pour préparer le terreau de l’agriculture de l’avenir

Des chercheurs de l’Université de Winnipeg (UWinnipeg) et de l’Université de la Saskatchewan (USask) ont entrepris un défi ambitieux : créer le terreau de la prochaine révolution mondiale dans le domaine de l’agriculture et de la production alimentaire. Avec le soutien de George Weston ltée et de Mitacs, l’équipe comble une lacune dans le domaine de l’agriculture numérique en mettant au point un système robotique pour créer un ensemble de données ouvert sur les plantes de culture et les mauvaises herbes des prairies canadiennes.

Revégétaliser les mines du Yukon grâce à des données et des connaissances autochtones

Saviez-vous que les minières canadiennes doivent planifier la fermeture d’une mine avant même le début de la production? Incluant la description de la façon dont la terre, l’eau et même les ressources culturelles seront restaurées, ce processus appelé « restauration minière » est au cœur du travail de la stagiaire Mitacs Accélération Krystal Isbister, une candidate au doctorat du Département des ressources renouvelables de l’Université de l’Alberta (U of A).

La première entreprise de camionnage autonome au Canada révolutionne le transport de marchandises

La pandémie mondiale n’a pas empêché l’entrepreneur torontois Raghavender Sahdev d’innover. Bien au contraire, il a mis à profit son temps pour propulser son entreprise en démarrage NuPort Robotics, la première entreprise de camionnage autonome au pays, qui aidera à faire progresser l’industrie canadienne du camionnage en utilisant des véhicules électriques écoresponsables sans conducteur pour faire la navette sur de courtes distances entre les centres de distribution, les entrepôts et les ports.

Une approche communautaire de la gestion des impacts dans le nord-ouest de la C.-B.

Bien avant d’être le deuxième plus grand port du Pacifique, le territoire autour de Prince Rupert, en Colombie-Britannique, accueillait la Première Nation Metlakatla. Riche en ressources et forte de son histoire marquée par des opportunités économiques productives, cette région a subi de nombreux changements. Des projets de développement et les activités humaines ont eu des répercussions non seulement sur l’environnement, mais aussi sur le bien-être de la communauté.

Un stagiaire cherche à protéger la propriété intellectuelle liée au développement d’un vaccin contre la COVID-19

Selon l’Agence de la santé publique du Canada, on compte un total de 71 486 cas de COVID-19 au 13 mai 2020, dont 83 % en Ontario et au Québec, des provinces qui déplorent à elles deux 92 % du nombre total de décès au pays. Avec un taux de mortalité de 3,4 %, la COVID-19 a créé une demande sans précédent — et croissante — de vaccin.

Utiliser une navette autonome afin de réduire l’insécurité alimentaire

Près du centre-ville de Montréal, le quartier de la Petite-Bourgogne présente plusieurs contrastes. À son extrémité sud, il touche le canal Lachine, une belle piste cyclable et piétonne de 14 kilomètres qui attire des millions de visiteurs chaque année. Au nord, il est délimité par l’autoroute Ville-Marie grise et achalandée. L’une des communautés les plus multiculturelles de la ville, la Petite-Bourgogne abrite des restaurants et boutiques haut de gamme, ainsi qu’une population vulnérable qui connaît des difficultés par rapport à l’insécurité alimentaire.

Pages