Mitacs announces new members to Research Council

Vancouver, BC – Mitacs, a national non-profit research and training organization, is pleased to welcome Dean Cristina Amon and Professor Farid Golnaraghi as new members to the organization’s research council. The Mitacs Research Council (MRC) is dedicated to maintaining the research integrity of Mitacs programs. MRC members provide representation of research in Canada across regions, disciplines, and sectors from academia, industry, and the public sector.

Cristina Amon is the Dean of the Faculty of Applied Science & Engineering at the University of Toronto and a pioneer in developing computation fluid dynamics to formulate thermal designs subject to multidisciplinary constraints. Under her leadership, U of T Engineering has become a globally recognized, diverse intellectual hub for interdisciplinary research, collaborative learning, and entrepreneurship. She is an elected fellow of all major professional societies and academies in her field, and has authored more than 350 refereed articles in research and education literature.

Farid Golnaraghi is the Director of Simon Fraser University’s School of Mechatronic Systems Engineering Program. He received his BASc and MASc degrees in Mechanical Engineering at the Worcester Polytechnic Institute in Massachusetts. Then, he moved to Cornell University to study Theoretical and Applied Mechanics, and received his PhD. In 1988, he became a professor of Mechanical Engineering at the University of Waterloo and in 2002 he was recognized with a Tier I Canada Research Chair. His pioneering research has resulted in three textbooks, more than two hundred journal and conference papers, four patents, and three start-up companies.

Dean Amon and Professor Golnaraghi join current Mitacs Research Council members:

  • Aftab Mufti (Chair), University of Manitoba
  • Miguel Anjos, École Polytechnique de Montréal
  • Lisa Crossley, VitalHub Corp.
  • Don Duchesne, Public Works and Government Services Canada
  • Tony Durst, University of Ottawa
  • Nancy Gallini, University of British Columbia
  • Tom Gill, Dalhousie University
  • Fahima Nekka, Université de Montréal
  • Maryam Tabrizian, McGill University
  • Douglas J. Thomson, University of Manitoba
  • Frank Tompa, University of Waterloo
  • Don Whitmore, Vector Construction Group


Alejandro Adem, Chief Executive Officer and Scientific Director, Mitacs

“We are honoured to have Dean Amon and Professor Golnaraghi  join the Mitacs Research Council. Their research experience and extensive academic credentials will bring additional expertise and integrity to the MRC.”

Cristina Amon, Dean, Faculty of Applied Science and Engineering, University of Toronto

“Mitacs continues to build new collaborations across disciplines, industries, and regions to offer groundbreaking training programs that foster the next generation of innovators in Canada. It is my privilege to contribute to this remarkable endeavour.”

Learn more:

For information about Mitacs and our programs, see