ISED renews support to Mitacs through Strategic Science Fund

Ottawa, ON — Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada (ISED) released an update on its Strategic Science Fund (SSF) this week, acknowledging Mitacs as one of the successful applicants that will receive funding through the program.

The SSF award from the Government of Canada is an important acknowledgment of Mitacs and the organization’s role in Canadian economic development. The announcement reconfirms Mitacs’s ability to act as a powerful ecosystem connector, mobilizing research and developing talent to drive innovation.

Mitacs was part of a vital group of innovation organizations asked to participate by submitting an application to the SSF in 2022, and this recognition from ISED also highlights the longstanding partnership with the Ministry. Mitacs was proud to receive support from ISED in Budget 2021 and to be named as part of the National Quantum Strategy in January 2023.

Mitacs is joined by other 23 members of the innovation community — including AGE-WELL NCE, Canadian Institute for Advanced Research, Genome Canada, Kids Brain Health Network, and Stem Cell Network — in receiving this important acknowledgement and support from SSF.


John Hepburn, CEO, Mitacs

“Through this show of confidence from Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada, Mitacs will be able to continue our important work, connecting research, talent, and industry to solve innovation challenges and drive economic growth. Support from the Strategic Science Fund will also allow us to continue making innovation accessible — recognizing talent in underrepresented communities and removing systemic barriers that prevent these groups from taking an active role in innovation.”

About Mitacs

Mitacs works to bring innovation to more people in more places across Canada and around the world. Mitacs makes investing in new knowledge easier through access to top researchers, flexible project plans, and co-investments in talent.

A not-for-profit organization, Mitacs is funded by the Government of Canada, the Government of Alberta, the Government of British Columbia, Research Manitoba, the Government of New Brunswick, the Government of Newfoundland and Labrador, the Government of Nova Scotia, the Government of Ontario, Innovation PEI, the Government of Quebec, the Government of Saskatchewan, and the Government of Yukon.

Learn more at