Device-free indoor activity detection and localization using Wifi signals

Creating smart indoor environments that detect and understand human daily life activities is attracting significant amount of attention, due to their huge potential impact on context-aware technologies. Aerial Technologies, our partner organization, is developing products that provide device-free indoor localization and activity recognition Wi-Fi signals generated by off-the-shelf Wi-Fi enabled devices. This project will use state of the art machine learning and time-series analysis algorithms to improve the detection and classification capabilities of these systems.

Improving Hearing Aid Processing for Live Music

The goal of this project is to improve the processing on hearing aids for music. Currently hearing aids are designed for speech, but for some hearing aid users music is an important part of their lives. A concert where the room acoustics are changed will be used to collect audio samples for testing changes to the hearing aids to improve the quality of live music for hearing aid users.

LAFORCE: Log Analytics For Operational Intelligence

The goal of this project is to explore the use of log analytics and machine/deep learning techniques to improve Ubisoft operational intelligence. Logs contain a wealth of information, but often hindered by the lack of best practices, tools, and processes. Despite the importance of logging, the area has not evolved much over the years. At Ubisoft, logs are used extensively for various system diagnosis tasks. The analysis of logs, however, is usually performed manually, limiting the full potential of the information contained in logs.

Optimized Non-invasive Cuff-less Continuous Blood Pressure Measurement Technique Using Artificial Neural Network

Continuous blood pressure (BP) monitoring is highly of assistance for detection of the major public health issue which is cardiovascular problems. Nowadays the BP monitoring technique which are commonly used are mostly using an uncomfortable cuff that makes continuous monitoring impossible since it slows the blood flow. However, measuring continues blood pressures are necessarily and crucial in some cases such as diagnostic of hypertension, for CVD patients, Sleep apnea and etc.

The effect of increased levels of converter based power generation on the voltage stability of a power system

As a result of the advancement of renewable energy and power electronic (PE) converter technologies, renewable energy sources are increasingly interfaced to the grid through PE based interconnections such as Voltage Sourced Converters (VSC) and Modular Multi-level Converters (MMC). It is essential to model and predict the behavior and effects of these components in the power system for safe and reliable operation. This proposed research project will focus on how renewable sources connected to the grid through PE converters, affect the stability power transmission system.

Image Maximum: The Invention and Early History of IMAX

IMAX is a Canadian-born invention that has had little scholarly investigation despite its continued commercial success. The importance of this research project stems from the lack of scholarly research about the beginnings of IMAX as a Canadian-born invention and its place within the history media technology.

Applications of Artificial Intelligence in Skin Cancer Imaging, Screening, and Diagnosis

This project involves the research and development of a new skin examination system for Elucid Labs Inc. (Elucid) to add to its imaging and diagnostic capabilities in the area of skin cancer, disease, and conditions. Elucid is building a comprehensive system that identifies and tracks a patients’ moles to perform screening and risk assessment. Moreover, Elucid will be developing a multimodal microscopy system that may prove to be useful in streamlining the histopathology process pertaining to skin biopsies.

AVIO 1603: Cosmic radiation In-flight Measurement and real-time analysis for Electronic Systems and passenger protection (CIMES)

Due to increasing miniaturization, future systems will be made of components that are more energy efficient and at the same time more sensitive to external radiation. To ensure that future systems remain protected against cosmic radiation and single events, aircraft and flight systems manufacturers must collect in-flight data for cosmic radiations and develop a global strategy for real-time processing of this data to provide pilots, crew and aircraft operations, with appropriate information to help them make the right decisions in case of unusually high cosmic radiation exposure.

Machine learning methods for signal classification in anti-drone technology

Drone technology has recently gained wide-scale acceptance in multiple military and commercial applications, including security surveillance and medicine delivery. In 2017 alone, the market revenue from drones is estimated to be around $6 billion. With this, there is also an emerging need for sophisticated anti-drone technology to detect rogue drones entering secure territories, such as military bases and prisons.

Vehicle Occupancy Detection using Thermal Camera and LIDAR

In this project, a vehicle occupancy detection system will be developed for automatic monitoring of HOV (High Occupancy Vehicle) and HOT (High Occupancy Toll) lanes. The system makes use of machine vision along with artificial intelligent algorithms, developed based on deep learning, to detect number of passengers in a vehicle in real-time. The developed technology will enable the industry partner to commercialize this solution in Canada and globally for efficient and enforceable monitoring of HOV and HOT lanes.

Pages

Modèles d’estimation a priori des efforts de développement de logiciels embarqués pour les communications dans les mines

Toutes les entreprises font face au défi d’avoir à estimer les efforts de développement de leurs logiciels. Dans la littérature, la quasi-totalité des modèles d’estimation des efforts de développement de logiciels sont basés sur des données collectées a posteriori sur des projets complétés : ils correspondent donc à des modèles a posteriori modélisant le passé.

Approches d'identification des systèmes et estimation des paramètres

Afin d’étudier le réseau électrique, il est essentiel de modéliser des composants du réseau tel que les turbines et les alternateurs avec précision. Parce que les données dynamiques des composants du réseau sont souvent inexactes, incomplètes ou même indisponibles. Il est avantageux que le processus d'identification des paramètres puisse être indépendant du modèle et applicable à divers types de modèles. Le processus d'identification des paramètres est considéré comme un problème d'optimisation complexe et non convexe.

Optimisation des ressources informatiques pour robots autonomes et systèmes intelligents distribués: Un modèle mathématique basé sur l'approche des frontières stochastiques de production

Le vieillissement de la population représente un défi humanitaire important. Cette transition nous amène à considérer l'utilisation de robots afin d'alléger les besoins en prestation de soins, une solution toutefois contrainte par les limites actuelles de l'informatique. À cet effet, les chercheurs s'inspirent de la capacité cognitive des êtres humains à moduler les stimuli. Différentes architectures ont été proposées, bien que la nature numérique de ces dernières réduise l'autonomie décisionnelle des robots mobiles.

Conception d’un système intelligent pour l’analyse en temps réel des efforts dans la main

Le projet consiste à concevoir un système portable pour la mesure de la force des doigts, adapté à la production à grande échelle. Ce système permettra d’étudier la progression physique d’athlètes et de patients issus de centres d’escalade et de cliniques de réadaptation.
L’entraînement de la force des doigts, pour des fins de performance physique ou de réadaptation après blessure, est complexe et encore très peu d’information est disponible quant aux résultats des protocoles d’exercices existants.

PROJET ANÉMONE. : Algorithmes d’aNticipation des dÉfauts, de leurs MOdéliation et de leurs Neutralisation anticipée.

Afin d’optimiser son processus et de tirer profit du cumul des connaissances accumulées dans les compagnies, le projet porte sur la mise en oeuvre et l’extension d’un dispositif d’interprétation des KPI générés dans le but de réduire l’implication humaine et de fournir aux experts un outil pour les guider dans l’analyse des causes dans le but de prévenir l’émergence de dysfonctionnements d’opération des équipements sous surveillance.
De plus, ce projet a pour principal livrable la réalisation d'un outil pour détecter des dérives multidimensionnelles complexes, de les anticiper et de communique

Modélisation et caractérisation des capteurs Lidar embarqués dans les véhicules intelligents et leurs applications en détection/reconnaissance d’obstacle par fusion multi-capteurs Lidar-Vision

Le développement des systèmes de sécurité embarqués dans les véhicules a connu un progrès significatif ces dernières années avec l’apparition, notamment, de systèmes intelligents d’aide à la conduite (ADAS) et de la conduite automatisée. Parmi les capteurs utilisés, la combinaison des capteurs lidars et des caméras permet de mesurer et de reconstruire virtuellement l’environnement du véhicule et ses obstacles.

Transmetteur d’énergie sans fil à haute puissance

Afin d’augmenter la mobilité de nos appareils portatifs tels que nos cellulaires ou ordinateurs, il sera bientôt possible de les recharger sans avoir besoin de fil. Le projet a pour but la conception d’un appareil (transmetteur) permettant de transmettre de l’énergie sans fil vers un ordinateur. Ce transmetteur pourra se situer sous les bureaux de travail et alimenter plusieurs dispositifs nécessitant de l’électricité sans être sensible à leur positionnement. La recharge pourra même se faire à quelques dizaines de centimètres du transmetteur.

Intégration et exploitation de la technologie LoRa pour les services de la Ville Intelligente

Le projet de recherche se propose de définir et de mettre en place les bases d’une architecture IoT basée sur la technologie LoRa et LoRaWan, qui sera utilisée pour la collecte et l’exploitation des données de diverses applications de la Ville intelligente, tout en garantissant la couverture du territoire, la sécurisation des données, et la fiabilité des services de collecte de données. On réalisera ensuite une étude pour déterminer un ensemble d’applications phares à développer pour la Ville Intelligente.

Développer une intelligence d’affaires pour les campagnes de financement

Cette recherche consiste à trouver une méthodologie qui permettra d’analyser les données en évolution efficacement afin d’obtenir des relations et modèles qui vont permettre de décrire et de prédire des informations sur les campagnes de financement utilisant la plateforme Web de Cible. Ces informations pourront être visualisées de façon graphique en permettant d’améliorer la prise de décisions auprès des organismes à but non lucratif. Ainsi, les campagnes de financement pourront mieux cibler le public et type d’activités pour aller chercher un plus grand revenu tout en étant efficaces.

eQuiet – Étude et développement d’un bouchon d’oreille intelligent pour chevaux

Ce projet vise à étudier et développer une preuve de concept d’un bouchon d’oreille pour chevaux. Les bouchons d’oreille sont utilisés pour réduire le niveau sonore des chevaux afin de réduire les distractions et d’améliorer leur concentration. Toutefois, le niveau d’atténuation des bouchons disponible sur le marché est limité. De plus, on dénote un intérêt grandissant pour le monitorage des signes vitaux des chevaux. Ceci permet d’assurer la santé des chevaux dans plusieurs domaines tel que le dressage, les courses et les calèches.

Pages