Milking RFID technology for all it’s worth

Consumers may not be aware of what’s recyclable in their communities, and common items like milk cartons may end up in landfill. In fact, some recycling is buried regardless of its “recyclability,” and the relative size and commonality of milk cartons means they alone can take up a significant amount of space in a landfill.

UNB postdoc combines engineering and computer science to improve quality, performance, and safety in factories

Eigen’s CEO, Scott Everett, contacted his former professor, Dr. Rickey Dubay, in the Department of Mechanical Engineering at the University of New Brunswick, to see if he could help. Through a Mitacs Accelerate internship, Professor Dubay, in turn, connected Scott with postdoctoral fellow Soheil Parsa who had the expertise to address the challenge.

'Scan-to-skate' technology brings customized comfort to the ice

A new research project between Anne-Laure Ménard, a postdoctoral fellow based at Laboratoire d’Imagerie Orthopédique (LIO) at Hopital du Sacré-Coeur in Montreal, and sports equipment company CCM Hockey is integrating biomedical engineering and skate design to provide customized hockey skates. The project began when Anne-Laure started looking into industry opportunities as she was nearing the end of her PhD at Polytechnique Montréal. “I reached out to a professor at École de téchnologie supérieure who happened to be in contact with CCM Hockey,” she explains.

Postcard from India: University of Waterloo student’s nanocomposite both detects and scavenges mercury in contaminated water

Under the guidance of Professor Michael K.C. Tam in the University of Waterloo’s Department of Chemical Engineering, I have been developing novel nanocomposites based on sustainable nanomaterials that can remove wastewater contaminants. Prof. Tam’s laboratory specializes in the design and development of novel functional materials based on eco-friendly nanomaterials and polymers.

Postcard from Brazil: water resource management in Porto Seguro

Reposted with permission from What WE Have to Say, Western University Engineering’s blog

Long-range drone to deliver food and medicine to Canada’s North

In response, local researchers and companies have partnered to develop a new generation of unmanned aerial vehicles (UAVs). They hope to develop UAVs — commonly known as drones — that are robust enough to transport large cargo across vast distances without needing a pilot or GPS.

Self-replicating technology will enable a new era of space exploration

During his 12-week internship, Leonardo is helping develop a self-replicating, solar-powered, 3-D printing machine for the moon that can mine lunar bedrock — like dust, soil, and broken rocks — extract the raw materials, and input them into a series of 3-D printers. The printer is then able to construct its own parts that can be used in future space settlements or shipped back to earth. 

New indoor mapping app helps you find your groceries

What if there was an app on your phone that could tell you which aisle to look in, and could give you specific directions to the product from your location within the store?

Previous Alberta floods to provide essential data for prediction software

Electricity, water supplies, communication networks, and public transportation were totally shut down. When her parents were unable to get home, Ashwini knew she wanted to do something to better warn people.

This summer, Ashwini has travelled to Canada through the Mitacs Globalink program to do research with Dr. Jennifer He at the University of Calgary’s Schulich School of Engineering. Their research focuses on using weather forecasts to predict extreme events such as floods and develop suitable warning times.

Driving fuel cell technology in cars of the future

With a demonstration fleet of B-Class F-Cell vehicles unveiled in 2010, Mercedes-Benz has established itself as a key competitor in this emerging market. The breakthrough came as a result of thousands of hours of research and development into fuel cell technology at Mercedes-Benz’s North American pilot manufacturing plant.

Pages

Logiciel de simulation d’inondations pour aider les Canadiens à garder la tête au-dessus de l’eau

Un étudiant tunisien se concentre sur le bassin versant du ruisseau Spencer à Dundas, Ontario (près de Hamilton) dans l’espoir de comprendre et de prévenir des inondations dans la région et à travers le Canada. Houssem Hmaidi est un étudiant de premier cycle en génie à l’Université de Medjez El Bab qui passe son été à l’Université de Guelph par l’entremise du programme Mitacs Globalink.

Utiliser l'IRF à son plein potentiel

Les consommateurs peuvent ne pas savoir ce qui est recyclable dans leurs communautés et des articles communs comme les cartons à lait peuvent se retrouver à la décharge. En fait, des matières recyclables sont tout de même enfouies et la taille relative ainsi que la quantité de cartons à lait signifie que seuls, ils peuvent occuper un espace important dans une décharge.

Un chercheur postdoctoral de l’Université du Nouveau-Brunswick combine le génie et l’informatique pour améliorer la qualité, la performance et la sécurité des usines

Le PDG d’Eigen, Scott Everett a contacté son ancien professeur, Rickey Dubay du département de génie mécanique à l’Université du Nouveau-Brunswick pour voir s’il pouvait l’aider. Par l’entremise d’un stage Mitacs Accélération, le professeur Dubay a à son tour mis Scott en contact avec le chercheur postdoctoral Soheil Parsa qui avait l’expertise pour répondre au défi.

Une technologie « scan au patin » offre du confort sur mesure à la patinoire

Un nouveau projet de recherche entre Anne-Laure Ménard, une chercheure postdoctorale au Laboratoire de recherche en imagerie et orthopédie (LIO) de l’Hôpital du Sacré-Cœur à Montréal et la compagnie d’équipement de sport CCM Hockey intègre le génie biomédical et la conception de patins pour créer des patins de hockey sur mesure. Le projet commença lorsqu’Anne-Laure commença à examiner des occasions auprès d’entreprises alors qu’elle terminait son doctorat à la Polytechnique de Montréal.

Carte postale de l’Inde : Le nanocomposite d’un étudiant de l’Université de Waterloo détecte et récupère le mercure dans l’eau contaminée

Sous la supervision du professeur Michael K.C. Tam du département de génie chimique de l’Université de Waterloo, j’ai travaillé au développement de nanocomposites novateurs fondés sur des nanomatériaux durables qui peuvent enlever les contaminants des eaux usées. Le laboratoire du professeur Tam se spécialise dans la conception et le développement de matériaux novateurs fonctionnels fondés sur des nanomatériaux et polymères écologiques.

Carte postale du Brésil : la gestion des ressources en eau en Porto Seguro

Réaffiché avec l’autorisation de What WE Have to Say, le blogue d’ingénierie de l’Université Western

Drone de longue portée pour la livraison de nourriture et de médicaments dans le nord du Canada

En réponse, les chercheurs et entreprises locales collaborent afin de développer une nouvelle génération de véhicule aérien sans pilote (UAV). Ils espèrent élaborer des UAV, communément appelés des drones, assez robustes pour transporter de grosses charges sur de longues distances sans nécessiter de pilote ou de GPS.

La technologie autoréplicable permettra une nouvelle ère d’exploration spatiale

Au cours de son stage de 12 semaines, Leonardo aide à développer une imprimante 3-D solaire, autoréplicable pour la lune qui peut miner le sous-sol rocheux lunaire — comme la poussière, la terre et des morceaux de roches — extraire des matières premières et les insérer dans une série d’imprimantes 3-D. L’imprimante est par la suite capable de construire ses propres morceaux qui peuvent être utilisés dans les colonies spatiales de l’avenir ou retournés vers la terre.

Une nouvelle application de cartographie intérieure vous aide à trouver votre épicerie

Comment serait-ce d’avoir une application sur votre téléphone qui pourrait vous dire dans quelle allée regarder et qui pourrait vous donner des instructions spécifiques pour vous rendre au produit à partir de votre emplacement dans le magasin?

Les inondations précédentes en Alberta fourniront des données essentielles pour un logiciel de prévision

L’électricité, l’alimentation en eau, les réseaux de communication et le transport collectif ont été complètement fermés. Lorsque ses parents ont été incapables de revenir à la maison, Ashwini a su qu’elle voulait faire quelque chose de mieux pour avertir les gens.

Pages