SideStix Ventures pairs with Mitacs Accelerate for evidence-based success

PhD student Megan MacGillivray from UBC's Department of Rehabilitation Sciences partnered with SideStix Ventures Inc. to evaluate the biomechanics of their high-performance forearm crutch.

Watch founder Sarah Doherty and intern Megan explain their innovation.

Meet Hamza Khan: Returning to Canada to find cures for disease

Home Institution/Country:
Vellore Institute of Technology, India

Globalink Research Internship Supervisor
Dr. Steven Zimmerly, Professor of Biological Sciences

Globalink Research Internship Host University in summer 2013
University of Calgary, Department of Biological Sciences

Increasing prostate cancer survival rates

Once prostate cancer is diagnosed, a series of biopsies has to be done to determine how serious the case is.  These can be invasive and painful for the patient and may not give an accurate prognosis.

In partnership with Mitacs-Accelerate intern Julius Adebayo Awe, CancerCare Manitoba has developed an innovative way to determine the progression of prostate cancer in intermediate risk prostate cancer patients through a simple blood test. This work is done in collaboration with the Manitoba Prostate Centre and Drs. Darrel Drachenberg and Jeff Saranchuk.

Calling Canada home

As a returning Globalink student, Linda was awarded the Mitacs Globalink Graduate Fellowship which provides financial support to former Globalink Research Interns who return to Canada for graduate studies at select Mitacs university partners.

Improving pain treatment

Outside of the laboratory, Vinícius has been building his professional portfolio by attending workshops on networking, time management and communication, a critical component of the Mitacs Elevate program. The skills and confidence he’s acquired have been instrumental in helping him grow as a researcher. “The professional development workshops have provided me with the tools, guidance and knowledge I was lacking as a career student. In particular, they’ve helped me identify which skills I need to improve and strengthen.

Award Winner Interview: Adam Metherel

Can you tell us a bit about the research you did through Mitacs Elevate that led to you winning the Mitacs & NRC-IRAP Award for Commercialization?

Expanding her research horizons

Hailing from the National Autonomous University of Mexico, Daniela is stationed at the University of Saskatchewan for 12 weeks to work alongside Professor Adelaine Leung in the Department of Biomedical Sciences. Her interest in neurocognitive and neurodegenerative diseases paired perfectly with Professor Leung’s research project on depression.

A passion for medicine

Working alongside Dr. Tim Storr in Simon Fraser University’s Department of Chemistry, Laura and her team of colleagues are screening compounds that bind metals, such as zinc and copper, to look for therapeutic strategies for Alzheimer’s disease. For Laura, the hands-on research and interactive laboratory setting has been a rewarding experience. “Collaborating with my labmates has been truly inspirational. We’re tackling the project from different perspectives and sharing our methods of research.”

A path to understanding cell migration

This innovative system will allow for highly controlled quantitative data, which will provide efficient cell migration analysis. The research is important because it reveals the underlying mechanisms behind the process of wound healing and other vital cell functions.   

Song’s internship in Canada has provided him with hands-on experience that offered insight into a research field that he intends to pursue in graduate studies.

Natural healing with Kisameet clay

Found in the glacial deposit at Kisameet Bay on the British Columbia coast, the clay, now trademarked as “Kisolite”, is naturally antimicrobial.

Kisameet Glacial Clay Inc. has exclusive rights to harvest the clay for commercial use.  But the company needed solid scientific evidence of its medicinal properties prior to going to market.

Pages

SideStix Ventures s’associe à Mitacs Accélération pour produire des résultats soutenus par de la recherche scientifique rigoureuse

Megan MacGillivray, doctorante, du département des sciences de la réadaptation de l’Université de la Colombie-Britannique, s’est associée à SideStix Ventures Inc. pour évaluer la biomécanique de leurs  béquilles d’avant-bras à haut rendement.

 

 

Visionnez la vidéo de Sarah Doherty et de la stagiaire Megan qui expliquent leur innovation (en anglais seulement).

 

 

 

 

 

Faites la connaissance d’Hamza, revenu au Canada pour trouver des remèdes à une maladie

Université d’attache et pays d’origine
Institut de technologie Vellore , Inde

Superviseur de stage de recherche Globalink
Steven Zimmerly, Ph. D, sciences biologiques

Université d’accueil du stage de recherche Globalink à l’été 2013
Université de Calgary, Département des sciences biologiques

Hausse du taux de survie au cancer de la prostate

Une fois le diagnostic établi, le patient doit subir une série de biopsies visant à établir le degré de gravité. Ces biopsies peuvent se révéler invasives et douloureuses, sans toutefois garantir un pronostic précis.

Au Canada comme chez soi

À titre d'ancienne étudiante Globalink, Linda s’est vue octroyer une bourse du programme Miatcs Globalink destinée aux étudiants des cycles supérieurs. Ce programme soutient financièrement les anciens stagiaires de recherche Globalink qui reviennent au Canada pour y mener des études des cycles supérieurs dans une des universités partenaires de Mitacs.

Améliorer le traitement de la douleur

Lorsqu’il n'est pas au laboratoire, Vinícius acquiert des compétences professionnelles complémentaires en assistant à des ateliers de réseautage, de gestion du temps et de communication, des éléments clés du programme Mitacs Élévation. Les compétences et la confiance qu’il a acquises dans le cadre de ces ateliers lui ont permis de se développer comme chercheur. « Dans le cadre de ces ateliers de développement professionnel, j’ai acquis des connaissances et obtenu des outils et des conseils qui manquaient à mon bagage académique, explique-t-il.

Entrevue avec Adam Metherel, lauréat du Prix Mitacs

Parlez-nous un peu de la recherche que vous avez effectuée dans le cadre du programme Élévation et qui vous a valu le Prix Mitacs et CNRC-PARI pour la commercialisation.

Élargir ses horizons de recherche

Daniela a travaillé pendant 12 semaines aux côtés de la professeure Adelaine Leung, du Département des sciences biomédicales de l’Université de la Saskatchewan. L'intérêt de Daniela pour les maladies neurocognitives et neurodégénératives cadrait parfaitement avec les travaux de recherche que mène la professeure Leung sur la dépression.

Passionnée de médecine

Travaillant aux côtés de Tim Storr, Ph. D., du Département de chimie de l’Université Simon Fraser, Laura et ses collègues testent des composés qui lient des métaux comme le zinc et le cuivre afin de mettre au point des stratégies de traitement pour la maladie d’Alzheimer. Cette recherche concrète menée dans un laboratoire interactif s’est révélée pour Laura une expérience très enrichissante. « La collaboration avec mes collègues de laboratoire a été une véritable source d’inspiration. Nous abordions le projet sous diverses perspectives et nous partagions nos méthodes de recherche. »

Une voie vers la compréhension de la migration cellulaire

Une fois au point, ce système permettra d’effectuer des observations quantitatives très contrôlées et d’obtenir une analyse pertinente des migrations cellulaires. Cette recherche est particulièrement importante en ce qu’elle révèle les mécanismes sous-jacents à la guérison des plaies, ainsi que d’autres fonctions cellulaires vitales.

Le stage que Song a effectué au Canada lui a donné l’occasion d’acquérir une expérience concrète en milieu de travail. Il ainsi pu obtenir un aperçu tangible du domaine de recherche qu’il choisira pour ses études supérieures.

Tout donner pour la recherche contre le cancer

C’est sa vision globale de la découverte scientifique qui a mené Luis Arvizu à l’Université Queen’s, où il mène actuellement des travaux de recherche sous la direction de Myron Szewczuk, Ph. D., du Département des sciences biomédicales et moléculaires. Luis est un étudiant de premier cycle en génie et biologie qui nous arrive du Tec de Monterrey, au Mexique.

Pages