Refining innovative technologies

With the support of Pierre des Lierres, Business Development Director at Mitacs, the company obtained the financial support of Mitacs Accelerate Quebec and connected with Iban Harlouchet and Professor Pierre Lafaye de Micheaux from the Department of Mathematics and Statistics at Université de Montréal. Iban undertook research at Odotech to optimize algorithms of the e-nose sensors that analyze olfactory emissions.

Award Winner Interview: Andre Bezanson

Can you tell us a bit about the research you did through Mitacs Accelerate that led to you winning the Mitacs Award for Outstanding Innovation – PhD award?

Clearer eyes in the sky

They can be maneuvered around refinery stacks or high voltage power lines for inspections without risk to pilots, and survey crops or mining operations using a fraction of the fuel needed for a normal airplane or helicopter.

But for a UAV to be effective, it must be able to capture high quality photos and video while being controlled remotely.

Natural healing with Kisameet clay

Found in the glacial deposit at Kisameet Bay on the British Columbia coast, the clay, now trademarked as “Kisolite”, is naturally antimicrobial.

Kisameet Glacial Clay Inc. has exclusive rights to harvest the clay for commercial use.  But the company needed solid scientific evidence of its medicinal properties prior to going to market.

Improving wheelchair safety

Airbags have been widely used to prevent injuries in automobile accidents for many years and Vancouver-based Mobisafe Systems Inc. has been examining ways to make wheelchairs safer using similar technology.

They approached the School of Engineering Science at Simon Fraser University, seeking academic research expertise on how to develop an “airbag” safety system for wheelchairs using a foam cushion.

Intern innovation drives business forward

Since the introduction of mass-production in the automobile industry, efficiency and innovation have been of upmost importance for companies wishing to be on the cutting-edge in this highly competitive business.  Aurora, Ontario-based automotive parts supplier Van-Rob Kirchhoff Automotive has found their competitive advantage in the Mitacs-Accelerate program.

Improving energy efficiency through innovative design

Rohan saw AV Nackawic’s energy-efficiency problem as the perfect opportunity to develop the practical understanding of industrial processes he was missing in his academic studies.  Rising to the challenge of troubleshooting a process problem in the heat-recovery system for AV Nackawic, Rohan drew upon everything he had learned throughout his academic career and put it to practical use – turning his abstract knowledge into concrete results.

Kick-starting a career in Southern Ontario through Mitacs Enterprise

After finishing a diploma in Electronics Engineering Technology from Sheridan College, Gurpreet was keen to put his skills and education to use. However, with limited job experience, landing a full-time position proved difficult. After learning about Mitacs Enterprise, Gurpreet partnered with Mississauga-based Avnan Electro, a global supplier of electrical components. The six-month internship was instrumental in providing him with the industry connections and experience he was looking for.

On the forefront of green technology

The company is working with tight industry deadlines, hoping to commercialize their fuel cells for use in consumer vehicles within a few years’ time whilst competing against the likes of Hyundai and Toyota.  As part of its bid to be on the cutting-edge of the technology, AFCC engaged in a Mitacs Elevate Post-Doctoral Fellowship with Dr. Ehsan Sadeghi of Simon Fraser University to develop accurate models of platinum alloy catalyst deployment used in the operation of a vehicle fuel cell.

Elevate fellow fine tunes access to innovation

“While I was working on my PhD, that’s what I was focused on. I needed time to foster industry relationships after my PhD, but I was still in an academic mindset. The Elevate program gave me the technical and practical skills to move to the next level.”

And he’s doing just that in the second year of his Mitacs Elevate postdoctoral fellowship. Gurjit is working with partner company Unitron Hearing, in collaboration with the Toronto Rehabilitation Institute and the University of Toronto to make hearing care accessible through the internet. 

Pages

Raffiner les technologies novatrices

Grâce au soutien de Pierre des Lierres, directeur du Développement des affaires chez Mitacs, Odotech a obtenu un financement du programme Mitacs Accélération Québec. L’entreprise a également été mise en relation avec l’étudiant Iban Harlouchet et son directeur, le professeur Pierre Lafaye de Micheaux, du Département de mathématiques et de statistique de l'Université de Montréal.

Entrevue avec Andre Bezanson, lauréat du Prix Mitacs

Parlez-nous un peu de la recherche que vous avez effectuée dans le cadre du programme Mitacs Accélération, et qui vous a valu le Prix Mitacs pour une innovation exceptionnelle d’un étudiant au doctorat.

Voir plus clair dans le ciel

Les UAV peuvent manœuvrer autour de cheminées de raffinerie ou de lignes à haute tension. On les utilise pour effectuer des inspections sans risques pour le pilote, ou opérateur. On y recourt aussi pour surveiller des récoltes ou des travaux d’exploitation minière en utilisant une fraction de l’essence consommée par un avion ou un hélicoptère standard.

Cependant, pour qu’un UAV soit efficace, il doit pouvoir photographier et filmer des images de très haute qualité, ce qui n’est pas si simple, étant donné qu’il est commandé à distance.

Guérir de manière naturelle grâce à l’argile de Kisameet

Cette argile possède des propriétés antimicrobiennes naturelles. On la recueille dans le dépôt glaciaire de la baie de Kisameet, sur la côte de la Colombie-Britannique. Aujourd’hui, une entreprise la commercialise sous le nom de « Kisolite ».
La société Kisameet Glacial Clay inc. avait acquis les droits d’exploitation exclusifs de l’argile à des fins commerciales. L’entreprise avait toutefois besoin de preuves scientifiques solides pour démontrer les propriétés médicinales du produit avant son lancement sur le marché.

Améliorer la sécurité des personnes en fauteuil roulant

Depuis de nombreuses années, les coussins gonflables sont largement utilisés pour prévenir les blessures lors d’accidents automobiles. Mobisafe Systems, une entreprise établie à Vancouver, explore maintenant la possibilité d'employer une technologie semblable pour rendre plus sûrs les déplacements en fauteuil roulant.

L’entreprise a contacté l’école des sciences du génie de l’Université Simon Fraser afin de solliciter de l’expertise de recherche pour concevoir un système de « coussin gonflable » pour fauteuil roulant au moyen d’un coussin de mousse.

L’innovation des stagiaires fait progresser les entreprises

« La concurrence est une lame affûtée qui rogne constamment les coûts. » Henry Ford, fondateur de Ford Motor Company et pionnier de l’industrie automobile

Depuis l’avènement de la production de masse dans l’industrie automobile, les entreprises doivent promouvoir l’efficacité et soutenir l’innovation pour demeurer à l’avant-garde sur leur marché hautement concurrentiel. Van-Rob Kirchhoff Automotive, un équipementier d’Aurora, en Ontario, s’est tourné vers le programme Mitacs-Accélération pour prendre une longueur d’avance sur ses concurrents.

Un projet novateur d'accroissement de l'efficacité énergétique

Pour Rohan, le problème d’efficacité énergétique d’AV Nackawic représentait l'occasion idéale d'acquérir une compréhension pratique des procédés industriels, une dimension qui manquait à ses études universitaires. En relevant le défi de régler le problème du dispositif de récupération de chaleur d’AV Nackawic, Rohan a fait appel à toutes les connaissances qu’il avait acquises à l’université et les a mises en œuvre dans le but de transformer ces notions parfois abstraites en résultats bien concrets.

Un étudiant démarre sa carrière de manière fulgurante dans le sud de l'Ontario grâce à Mitacs Entreprise

Après l’obtention de son diplôme en technique de génie électronique au Collège Sheridan, Gurpreet était impatient de mettre à l’œuvre ses connaissances et compétences. Cependant, décrocher un poste à temps plein avec une expérience de travail limité s'est révélé difficile. C'est pourquoi, après avoir entendu parler du programme Mitacs Entreprise, Gurpreet s'est associé à Avnan Electro, de Mississauga, un fournisseur mondial de composants électriques.

À l’avant-garde des technologies vertes

Pour rivaliser de vitesse avec des concurrents tels Hyundai et Toyota et espérer pouvoir commercialiser d’ici quelques années ses piles à combustibles pour automobiles, l’entreprise doit composer avec des échéances très serrées. Pour se tenir à la fine pointe de la technologie, AFCC s’est adjoint les services du boursier postdoctoral Ehsan Sadeghi, Ph. D. de l'Université Simon Fraser, dans le cadre du programme de bourses de recherche postdoctorale Mitacs Élévation.

Un stagiaire Élévation peaufine l’accès à l’innovation

« Pendant mon doctorat, je me suis concentré uniquement sur mes études. Une fois mon diplôme en poche, l’heure était venue d’établir des relations avec des intervenants de l’industrie. Toutefois, j’étais encore dans un état d’esprit académique. Le programme Élévation m’a donné les compétences techniques et pratiques nécessaires pour passer à l’étape suivante. »

Pages