Paulina Ramirez Niembro connects to culture in Victoria

Paulina is part of a team working on the Centre for Youth and Society’s “Stronger Together” research project that includes Indigenous community knowledge keepers and students from the Indigenous Communities Counselling program in the Department of Educational Psychology and Leadership Studies. She has assisted in building the knowledge base for two projects involving indigenous culture as it relates to youth mental health, and to youth cultural identity.

Calling Canada home

As a returning Globalink student, Linda was awarded the Mitacs Globalink Graduate Fellowship which provides financial support to former Globalink Research Interns who return to Canada for graduate studies at select Mitacs university partners.

Analyzing First Nations well-being under self-governance

But the Tsawwassen First Nation lacked systematic information about their people such as their socio-economic status, education, health, and desires for a better community — information vital to guide the self-governance process.  They reached out to University of British Columbia professor Ralph Matthews from the Department of Sociology to help conduct a detailed survey on all aspects of well-being of the population. 

Postcard from Brazil: UBC student brings laser experiment to Rio de Janeiro

I knew I wouldn’t pass up the opportunity but I was still scared.  When I arrived in Rio de Janeiro, I had no idea what to expect. It was my first trip to South America, I didn’t speak any Portuguese, and I only knew my Brazilian supervisor, whom I’d met once before.

After I landed, I was greeted at the airport and taken to UFRJ and then to my apartment in Santa Teresa, an old neighbourhood on a hill. Once I looked out my window and saw the view of the bay and Sugarloaf Mountain, I realized just where I was. It was amazing.

A passion for medicine

Working alongside Dr. Tim Storr in Simon Fraser University’s Department of Chemistry, Laura and her team of colleagues are screening compounds that bind metals, such as zinc and copper, to look for therapeutic strategies for Alzheimer’s disease. For Laura, the hands-on research and interactive laboratory setting has been a rewarding experience. “Collaborating with my labmates has been truly inspirational. We’re tackling the project from different perspectives and sharing our methods of research.”

Using technology to fight disease

Bojan Ramadanovic, a postdoctoral fellow at the Interdisciplinary Research in the Mathematical and Computational Sciences (IRMACS) Centre at Simon Fraser University, specializes in mathematical modeling of complex social systems, including the spread of disease and delivery of healthcare. Through Mitacs-Accelerate and working under his academic supervisor, Dr. Alexander Rutherford, he partnered with pharmaceuticals company Merck Canada Inc.

Natural healing with Kisameet clay

Found in the glacial deposit at Kisameet Bay on the British Columbia coast, the clay, now trademarked as “Kisolite”, is naturally antimicrobial.

Kisameet Glacial Clay Inc. has exclusive rights to harvest the clay for commercial use.  But the company needed solid scientific evidence of its medicinal properties prior to going to market.

Professor Profile: Professor Bozena Kaminska – SFU

Originally from Poland, Dr. Kaminska moved to Canada in 1986 and held a professor position at Polytechnique de Montréal for fourteen years, before heading to the United States with her start-up company OPMAXX.  After the company’s acquisition, she returned to Canada and was awarded a Tier 1 Canada Research Chair. She has been based at School of Engineering Science at Simon Fraser University since 2005.

Dr. Kaminska found Mitacs Accelerate as the perfect fit to advance her own research and apply it in an industrial setting.

Research from the heart

Diego comes from Guadalajara, Mexico’s Monterrey Institute of Technology and Higher Education where he is working towards his undergraduate degree in Biotechnology. It was his initial intrigue with DNA that drove him to this field of study, but now the possibility that his research will have real world impact has pushed him to pursue his masters.

A step forward in computer security

Marcelo is currently working on a project where he analyzes short online documents, such as emails, to check the identity of the author. His research is integral to the field of computer security because there have only been a handful of studies on this topic.  “Authorship verification of online documents can play a critical role in various criminal cases such as blackmailing and terrorist activities, says Marcelo.” “Sharing my research with others is integral to the field of computer security, and Mitacs Step has provided me with the necessary communication skills to do so.”

Pages

Paulina Ramirez Niembro se lie à la culture à Victoria

Paulina fait partie de l’équipe qui œuvre sur le projet de recherche duCentre for Youth and Society intitulé « Stronger Together » qui comprend des gardiens du savoir et des étudiants du programme de counseling des communautés autochtones du département de la psychologie de l’éducation et des études sur le leadership. Elle a contribué à établir une base de connaissance pour deux projets portant sur la culture autochtone relativement à la santé mentale et à l’identité culturelle des jeunes.

Au Canada comme chez soi

À titre d'ancienne étudiante Globalink, Linda s’est vue octroyer une bourse du programme Miatcs Globalink destinée aux étudiants des cycles supérieurs. Ce programme soutient financièrement les anciens stagiaires de recherche Globalink qui reviennent au Canada pour y mener des études des cycles supérieurs dans une des universités partenaires de Mitacs.

Évaluer le bien-être des communautés autonomes des Premières Nations

La communauté des Tsawwassen manquait cependant de données exhaustives au sujet de ses habitants. Ces renseignements — le statut socio-économique des habitants, leur éducation, leur santé, les moyens pour améliorer le sort de la communauté, etc. — étaient essentiels pour orienter le processus d’accession à l'autonomie des Tsawwassen.

Une étudiante de l’Université de la Colombie-Britannique se rend à Rio de Janeiro avec son expérimentation du laser

Je savais que c’était une occasion à ne pas manquer, mais j’avais néanmoins peur. Lorsque je suis arrivée dans la ville capitale du Brésil, je ne savais pas à quoi m’attendre. C’était mon premier voyage en Amérique du Sud, je ne parlais pas le portugais et la seule personne que je connaissais était mon superviseur brésilien, que je n’avais rencontré qu’une fois auparavant.

Passionnée de médecine

Travaillant aux côtés de Tim Storr, Ph. D., du Département de chimie de l’Université Simon Fraser, Laura et ses collègues testent des composés qui lient des métaux comme le zinc et le cuivre afin de mettre au point des stratégies de traitement pour la maladie d’Alzheimer. Cette recherche concrète menée dans un laboratoire interactif s’est révélée pour Laura une expérience très enrichissante. « La collaboration avec mes collègues de laboratoire a été une véritable source d’inspiration. Nous abordions le projet sous diverses perspectives et nous partagions nos méthodes de recherche. »

Combattre la maladie grâce à la technologie

Bojan Ramadanovic, boursier de recherche postdoctorale Accélération, mène des travaux de recherche au Centre Interdisciplinary Research in the Mathematical and Computational Sciences (IRMACS) de l’Université Simon Fraser. M. Ramadanovic se spécialise en modélisation mathématique de systèmes sociaux complexes, et s’intéresse notamment à la propagation des maladies et à la prestation de soins de santé. Dans le cadre d’un projet du programme Accélération de Mitacs, M. Ramadanovic et son superviseur universitaire, Alexander Rutherford, Ph.

Guérir de manière naturelle grâce à l’argile de Kisameet

Cette argile possède des propriétés antimicrobiennes naturelles. On la recueille dans le dépôt glaciaire de la baie de Kisameet, sur la côte de la Colombie-Britannique. Aujourd’hui, une entreprise la commercialise sous le nom de « Kisolite ».
La société Kisameet Glacial Clay inc. avait acquis les droits d’exploitation exclusifs de l’argile à des fins commerciales. L’entreprise avait toutefois besoin de preuves scientifiques solides pour démontrer les propriétés médicinales du produit avant son lancement sur le marché.

Profil de professeur : Professeure Bozena Kaminska – Université Simon Fraser

Originaire de Pologne, la Dre Kaminska a immigré au Canada en 1986 avant d’occuper pendant 14 ans un poste de professeure à l’école Polytechnique de Montréal. Elle a ensuite vécu pendant quelques années aux États-Unis, où elle a fondé l’entreprise OPMAXX.  Après avoir vendu l’entreprise, elle est revenue s’établir au Canada où elle a obtenu une chaire de recherche canadienne de niveau 1. La Dre Kaminska occupe depuis 2005 un poste à l’École des sciences du génie de l’Université Simon Fraser.

Le cœur à la recherche

Diego fréquente le campus de Guadalajara de l’Institut de technologie et d’études supérieures de Monterrey, au Mexique. Il y décrochera bientôt un diplôme de premier cycle en biotechnologies. Attiré dans ce champ d’études par son intérêt initial pour l’ADN, il s’oriente maintenant vers des études de maîtrise, une décision motivée par la possibilité que ses recherches puissent avoir une incidence sur la vie de personnes en chair et en os.

Faire un pas en avant en sécurité informatique

Marcelo travaille actuellement à un projet dans le cadre duquel il analyse de courts documents en ligne, comme des courriels, afin d’établir l'identité de leur auteur. Bien que ses travaux relèvent directement du domaine de la sécurité informatique, très peu d'études ont été à ce jour réalisées sur le sujet. « La vérification de l'identité des auteurs de documents en ligne peut jouer un rôle crucial dans plusieurs enquêtes criminelles, notamment dans les cas de chantage et d’activité terroriste, indique Marcelo.

Pages