Mitacs-Accelerate on display for British Columbia’s technology industry

Ten BC  graduate student interns and their partner companies came together to exhibit the results of their Mitacs-Accelerate internships to the CEOs and venture capitalists of British Columbia’s technology community who were attending the BC Innovation Council’s A Dialogue…Building and Sustaining BC’s Technology Ecosystem.

Lighting the way to an energy-efficient future

With the cost of electricity continuing to rise, businesses and homes are looking at increasingly innovative ways to reduce consumption and help the environment.

While energy-efficient light bulbs and heating systems are now commonplace, Vancouver-based Unity Integration Corporation (UIC) looked to develop other technologies to help cut energy use in buildings even further.

UIC turned to Mitacs-Accelerate and Simon Fraser University for expertise on how to turn their idea of a low-cost, energy-efficient sensor system into reality.

Cultivating children’s creativity

Kibooco (short for “Kids Book Company”) Interactive is a technology startup whose aim is to encourage children’s creativity by developing an online e-book tool where children can create their own virtual and physical storybooks.  Being a small company with limited research resources, Kibooco reached out to the Mitacs-Accelerate program for support and expertise – and found Allen.

Stepped up networking skills

The networking workshop has helped boost his confidence in sharing his research outcomes.  “I am a social person naturally, but I lacked the formal training in how to act in a proper networking event.  Learning the little things, like carrying business cards, building a LinkedIn profile and simply how to approach a stranger and make small talk were all very beneficial, and the instructors were excellent.   Since I took the workshop, I have found that when I go to large events, I am better prepared to make meaningful connections with people in a natural way.”

Planning for growth in First Nations communities

Recognizing this challenge, EcoPlan International set out to develop communications tools that would assist First Nations leaders as they move forward on key community planning decisions.  They did so by partnering with University of British Columbia School of Community and Regional Planning (SCARP) Masters student, Juliet Van Vliet through Mitacs-Accelerate to develop a custom Geographic Information Systems (GIS) map database for several Métis communities in Alberta.

Discovering an engaging international community via Globalink

When Zoey’s professor in China described Mitacs Globalink as an international research program that could transform her perception of the world forever, she immediately applied.  Becoming part of a global community was a lifelong dream for this passionate medicine student and she was thrilled when she received the offer to do cancer detection research with Dr. Tim Storr in the Department of Chemistry at Simon Fraser University.

Award Winner Interview: Joanna Triscott

Because of this research, BC Children’s Hospital can how examine all new cases of pediatric brain tumors throughout the entirety of Western Canada with precision and accuracy – thus reducing the (often excessive) intensity of treatment for children with cancer while still effectively treating the disease.  Below is an exclusive interview with Ms.

Coming full-circle to Canada

After having come to Canada for a summer English language camp in 2010, Barbara Paes of Universidade de Brasília was always looking for opportunities to return to Canada. So when her friend told her about the Mitacs Globalink program one week before the application deadline, she hurried to apply before it was too late. Now studying at the University of British Columbia’s Brain Research Centre, Barbara has fallen in love with Canada all over again.

Taking the pulse of new life-saving Smartphone application

Vicky comes to Canada from the Beijing Institute of Technology in China, where she is working towards a Bachelor’s degree in Computing Science.  She chose to apply to the Globalink program over others because it engages students from different countries, which has allowed her to network globally during her exchange: “You can really feel the collision of cultures here through Globalink – I think that is really unique.”

Solidifying the foundations of community causes

As property values in surrounding neighbourhoods have increased, not-for-profit organizations in Vancouver’s Downtown Eastside, which provide services to some of Canada’s most vulnerable people, have felt tremendous pressure to secure spaces where they are needed most. For Watari, an organization which provides counseling and support to at-risk citizens of Vancouver, this meant exploring the idea of purchasing a single-resident occupancy (SRO) hotel to be its new permanent home.

Pages

Profil de professeur Globalink : Dre Elizabeth Croft

De 2010 à 2012, la Dre Croft a accueilli des stagiaires Globalink originaires de l’Inde et du Brésil au sein de son équipe. Elle a chaque fois été agréablement surprise par l’éthique de travail et les capacités d’apprentissage de ces étudiants de premier cycle.

Profil de professeur Mitacs-Accélération: Dr Afzal Suleman

Titulaire d’un poste de professeur à la faculté de génie de l’Université de Victoria, le Dr Suleman participe au programme depuis sa création. Il a, jusqu’ici, supervisé plus d’une quinzaine de stages.

Faire la lumière sur un avenir écoénergétique

Tandis que les tarifs d’électricité ne cessent d’augmenter, les entreprises et les propriétaires de résidences se tournent vers des moyens de plus en plus novateurs pour réduire leur consommation d’énergie et adopter des comportements plus écologiques.

Maintenant que les ampoules écoénergétiques sont largement utilisées, Unity Integration Corporation (UIC), une entreprise de Vancouver, travaille au développement de nouvelles technologies pouvant réduire encore davantage la consommation d’énergie dans les bâtiments.

Cultiver la créativité des enfants

Kibooco (abréviation de Kids’ Book Company) est une jeune entreprise technologique qui a pour mission de stimuler la créativité des enfants en mettant à leur disposition dans Internet des outils de conception de livres d’histoires virtuels et physiques. Pour remédier au manque de ressources en recherche auquel font souvent face les petites entreprises, Kibooco s’est tournée vers le programme Mitacs-Accélération pour obtenir du soutien et de l’expertise. C’est ainsi qu’elle a trouvé Allen.

De meilleures habiletés de réseautage

L’atelier de réseautage Étapes a aidé M. Favaro à bâtir sa confiance afin de pouvoir partager les issus de ses recherches. « Je suis une personne sociable de nature, mais je manquais de formation sur la manière d’agir lors d’un véritable événement de réseautage. Recevoir des conseils de base tels qu’apporter des cartes professionnelles, se créer un profil LinkedIn ou simplement apprendre à aborder un inconnu pour discuter de tout et de rien a été bénéfique pour moi, sans compter que les animateurs étaient excellents.

Planifier la croissance dans les communautés des Premières Nations

Reconnaissant ce défi, EcoPlan International a entrepris de mettre au point des outils de communication destinés à aider les chefs des Premières Nations à prendre leurs grandes décisions de planification. Après avoir fait appel à Mitacs-Accélération pour trouver un stagiaire, l’organisme s’est associé à Juliet Van Vliet, étudiante en maîtrise de l’École de géonémie de l’Université de la Colombie-Britannique, à qui elle a demandé de créer une base de données cartographique de système d’information géographique (SIG) pour plusieurs collectivités métisses de l’Alberta.

Globalink : pour découvrir une communauté internationale engageante

Un des professeurs chinois de Zoey lui avait décrit Globalink comme un programme de recherche international qui pourrait à jamais transformer sa perception du monde. Il n'en fallut pas plus pour qu'elle s'empresse de poser sa candidature. Devenir membre d’une communauté internationale de recherche était l’un des rêves de vie de  Zoey, une étudiante passionnée de médecine.  Elle fut enchantée qu’on lui offre d’effectuer de la recherche sur la détection du cancer en partenariat avec le Dr Tim Storr du département de chimie de l’Université Simon Fraser.

Le gagnant d’un prix Mitacs assiste les enfants atteints du cancer

Grâce à cette recherche, le BC Children’s Hospital peut maintenant examiner, avec précision et exactitude, tous les nouveaux cas de tumeur cérébrale infantile partout dans l'Ouest du Canada, réduisant ainsi la lourdeur (souvent excessive) des traitements dispensés aux enfants qui souffrent du cancer, tout en garantissant l'efficacité de ceux-ci. Vous trouverez ci-dessous un entretien exclusif avec Mme Triscott, récipiendaire du prix Mitacs pour la recherche de qualité exceptionnelle d'un(e) étudiant(e) des cycles supérieurs.

Voyage tous azimuts au Canada

Depuis son séjour  au Canada en 2010, dans le cadre d’un camps d'immersion en anglais, Barbara Paes, de l’Université du Brésil, recherchait une occasion de revenir au pays. C'est pourquoi elle s'est empressée de poser sa candidature pour l'obtention  d'un stage Globalink, après qu’une amie lui eut parlé du programme, à moins d'une semaine de la fermeture pour le dépôt des candidatures. Maintenant étudiante au Brain Research Center de l'Université de la Colombie-Britannique, Barbara revit son histoire d’amour avec le Canada.

Une nouvelle application pour téléphone intelligent sauvera des vies

Vicky est une étudiante au baccalauréat en sciences informatiques de l’Institut des technologies de Beijing. Son choix s’est arrêté sur le programme Globalink parce qu’à la différence d’autres programmes, celui-ci admet simultanément des étudiants de plusieurs pays. C'est grâce à cette particularité que Vicky a pu étendre son réseau à l'échelle internationale : « On peut vraiment sentir le choc des cultures au sein du programme Globalink, et ça le rend vraiment unique ».

Pages