Young entrepreneurs improve medical storage for reliable transportation

As of May 27, 2020, there have been 2,925,466 infected COVID-19 patients reported worldwide, with a total of 355,727 deaths. The rapid progression of the COVID-19 pandemic has raised concerns regarding the short supply of medical equipment needed to control the rate of transmission and mortality. In most developing countries, transporting vaccines can be difficult without the proper storage technologies, since vaccines and equipment can spoil in high temperatures.

Intern works to protect IP for COVID-19 vaccine development

According to the Public Health Agency of Canada, the total number of COVID-19 cases reached a high of 71,486 as of May 13, 2020 — with Ontario and Quebec collectively accounting for 83% of all cases and 92% of the Canadian death toll. With a mortality rate of 3.4%, COVID-19 has created an unprecedented — and growing — demand for a vaccine.

Using an autonomous bus to reduce food insecurity

Near downtown Montréal, the Little Burgundy neighbourhood reveals many contrasts. In the south, it touches the Lachine Canal, a beautiful 14-kilometre cycling and pedestrian pathway that sees millions of visitors every year. In the north, it is bordered by the busy and grey Ville-Marie Expressway. One of the most multicultural communities in the city, Little Burgundy is home to upscale restaurants and boutiques, but also to a vulnerable population that struggles with food insecurity.

Innovative app enables accessible buildings

Ishita Saraswat, a senior undergraduate student from Dayalbagh Educational Institute Dayalbagh, Agra in India and her Tunisian peer, Aymen Brahim from the University of Sfax’s National School of Electronics and Telecommunication (ENET’COM) are Mitacs Globalink Interns who have discovered that the best approach is to identify the problem and implement the solution at the same time via an online app.

Advancing hip fracture recovery without complex technology

In this age group, around 50 percent of women and 25 percent of men will sustain at least one subsequent osteoporotic fracture in their remaining lifetime. After older adults sustain a hip fracture, decline in function and mobility can be rapid. The result is an increased dependency on care and financial burdens placed on their caregivers and the healthcare system. Up to half of hip fracture patients do not return to their pre-fracture functional levels and end up in long-term care institutions.

Robots gain empathy skills thanks to Ontario Tech team and international intern

Why is this helpful?

If, for example, a panicked person shouts for help, Zenbo may suggest calling 9-1-1 because it understands the underlying need for emergency assistance. This sort of empathic response could make robots an important companion in care homes, hospitals, and at home.

Counteracting colony collapse; research team seeks to solve honeybee mystery

French Biological Engineering Master’s student, Marie Marbaix is spending her summer contributing to the global investigation into colony collapse disorder. For 12 weeks, she’s joined Professor Levon Abrahamyan at the Université de Montréal to study the co-infection of mites and viruses in honeybees through a Mitacs Globalink research internship. The researchers want to know if co-infection — being afflicted with more than one parasite or virus at once — could be contributing to honeybee deaths, and ultimately, colony collapse.

Exorbitant food-recall costs face reduction thanks to tiny proteins

That’s a huge cost to swallow for farmers and companies around the world whose livelihoods depend on food safety and healthy animals.

The Muskrat Hut

Also known as Wachusko weesti, the Muskrat Hut project aims to design a sustainable, locally sourced four-season prototype unit that comprises a composting toilet, shower/sauna, heat source, energy source (solar and wind), and a kitchen area.

‘Lone wolf’ terrorism could face extinction thanks to new computer software

Karthik, an undergraduate student at National Institute of Technology in Hamirpur in India, has joined Associate Professor Andrew Park this summer for a 12-week Mitacs Globalink research internship. He’s helping to develop an algorithm that can accurately and precisely identify the most likely location of a potential sniper attack on a public gathering.

Pages

Un stagiaire cherche à protéger la propriété intellectuelle liée au développement d’un vaccin contre la COVID-19

Selon l’Agence de la santé publique du Canada, on compte un total de 71 486 cas de COVID-19 au 13 mai 2020, dont 83 % en Ontario et au Québec, des provinces qui déplorent à elles deux 92 % du nombre total de décès au pays. Avec un taux de mortalité de 3,4 %, la COVID-19 a créé une demande sans précédent — et croissante — de vaccin.

Utiliser une navette autonome afin de réduire l’insécurité alimentaire

Près du centre-ville de Montréal, le quartier de la Petite-Bourgogne présente plusieurs contrastes. À son extrémité sud, il touche le canal Lachine, une belle piste cyclable et piétonne de 14 kilomètres qui attire des millions de visiteurs chaque année. Au nord, il est délimité par l’autoroute Ville-Marie grise et achalandée. L’une des communautés les plus multiculturelles de la ville, la Petite-Bourgogne abrite des restaurants et boutiques haut de gamme, ainsi qu’une population vulnérable qui connaît des difficultés par rapport à l’insécurité alimentaire.

Une application novatrice permet de rendre les édifices accessibles

Ishita Saraswat, une finissante de premier cycle de Dayalbagh Educational Institute Dayalbagh, Agra en Inde et son pair tunisien, Aymen Brahim de l’École Nationale d’Électronique et des Télécommunications (ENET’COM) de l’Université de Sfax sont des stagiaires Mitacs Globalink qui ont découvert que la meilleure approche est d’identifier le problème et de mettre en œuvre la solution en même temps à l’aide d’une application en ligne.

Faire avancer le rétablissement à la suite d’une fracture de la hanche sans une technologie complexe

Dans cette tranche d’âge, environ 50 pour cent des femmes et 25 pour cent des hommes subiront au moins une fracture ostéoporotique subséquente pendant le reste de leur vie. Après avoir subi une fracture de la hanche, le déclin de la mobilité et du fonctionnement des aînés peut être rapide. Il en résulte une dépendance accrue sur les soins, et des fardeaux financiers imposés sur leurs fournisseurs de soins et le système de soins de santé.

Les robots développent des compétences en empathie grâce à une équipe de l’Université Ontario Tech et à un stagiaire international

Pourquoi est-ce utile?

Si, par exemple, une personne en état de panique crie pour demander de l’aide, Zenbo pourrait suggérer d’appeler le 9-1-1 parce qu’il comprend le besoin sous-jacent d’assistance urgente. Cette sorte de réponse empathique pourrait faire des robots un compagnon important dans les maisons de soins, dans les hôpitaux et à la maison.

Contrer l’effondrement des colonies; une équipe de recherche tente de résoudre le mystère des abeilles

L’étudiante française à la maîtrise en génie biologique, Marie Marbaix passe son été à contribuer à l’étude mondiale du syndrome d’effondrement des colonies. Pendant 12 semaines, elle s’est jointe au professeur Levon Abrahamyan de l’Université de Montréal pour étudier la co-infection d’acariens et de virus des abeilles par l’entremise de Stage de recherche Mitacs Globalink. Les chercheurs souhaitent savoir si la co-infection, être affecté par plus d’un parasite ou virus à la fois, pourrait contribuer à la mort des abeilles, et ultimement, à l’effondrement des colonies.

Les coûts exorbitants de rappels de nourriture pourraient être réduits grâce à de minuscules protéines

C’est un énorme coût à couvrir pour les agriculteurs et les entreprises dont les moyens d’existence dépendent de la sécurité alimentaire et d’animaux en santé.

La hutte de rat musqué

Connu également sous le nom de Wachusko weesti, le projet de la hutte de rat musqué a pour but de concevoir un prototype quatre saisons durable et assemblé localement comprenant une toilette à compostage, une douche/sauna, une source de chaleur, une source d’énergie (solaire et éolienne) et une cuisine.

L’exode des cerveaux vous décourage? Essayez la rétention des cerveaux

Depuis la création de l’entreprise en 2015, Borealis AI s’est associée à Mitacs pour soutenir le désir d’innovation de RBC par la collaboration universitaire. En plus de trouver des solutions aux problèmes spécifiques associés à l’apprentissage machine, Borealis AI est peut-être tombée sur la solution à une des plus grandes difficultés dans le domaine de l’intelligence artificielle (IA) au Canada — la rétention des meilleurs talents.

Le terrorisme « loup solitaire » pourrait être en voie d’extinction grâce à un nouveau logiciel

M. Vedantham, un étudiant de premier cycle au National Institute of Technology à Hamirpur en Inde, s’est joint au professeur associé Andrew Park cet été pour un stage de recherche Mitacs Globalink de 12 semaines. Il aide à développer un algorithme qui peut identifier de façon correcte et avec précision l’endroit le plus probable d’une attaque par tireur sur un événement public.

Pages