Long-range drone to deliver food and medicine to Canada’s North

In response, local researchers and companies have partnered to develop a new generation of unmanned aerial vehicles (UAVs). They hope to develop UAVs — commonly known as drones — that are robust enough to transport large cargo across vast distances without needing a pilot or GPS.

Well-being of Indigenous youth enhanced by arts and culture activities

One approach to helping these issues that is gaining traction is participatory arts and culture activities made by and for members of Indigenous communities. By creating tools for storytelling and culture-sharing, researchers and community members are working together to empower Indigenous youth to explore their creative capacities and imagine possibilities for bright futures.

Big data takes a shot at crime in Saskatchewan

But now, a partnership between a team of researchers from the University of Regina’s Department of Computer Science and ISM Canada is creating new tools using “big data” that can help to tackle crime on the streets using information from the virtual world.

Seeking a big data solution

Research at Wilfrid Laurier University explores migrant women’s challenges

As luck would have it, Denisse got an email from her university’s international office, sharing the opportunity to come to Canada for a Globalink Research Internship. Denisse — curious about the country after taking a class in North American culture — applied to several projects with a gender studies component, and was matched with Dr. Jenna Hennebry, Director of Wilfrid Laurier University’s International Migration Research Centre in Waterloo, Ontario.

Smart technology advances safety and comfort in the home

Aymen Djebbi, a Mitacs Globalink research intern from Tunisia, thinks he has an answer.  In collaboration with researchers at the Université de Sherbrooke, Aymen is helping to develop smart home technology this summer.

Anthropologist studies Indigenous land use

“I have always been interested in anthropology, particularly Indigenous ethnography, and how certain forces are trying to homogenize them. The researcher plays a critical role in these kinds of studies, as he or she needs to experience these communities by being in them,” she explains. “Anthropology exists in the space where one culture collides with another.” She’s putting that passion to work at the Universidade Federal do Rio de Janeiro (UFRJ).

Giving families the tools to care for children affected by Zika

Thousands of kilometers away in Halifax, Canada, Mitacs Globalink intern Lisandra Oliviera is working with a team of researchers at the IWK Health Centre to conduct a systematic review of intervention therapies for parents of children with disabilities similar to microcephaly – a family of conditions known as neurodevelopmental disorders. The parenting intervention includes an “orientation” for family members to develop their parenting skills in ways that will help with management of symptoms and improved mental health for the children.

Doctoral student partners with children’s gaming start-up to communicate social issues

Having reached a crossroads in her PhD research, Renée was seeking opportunities to connect to the wider academic community. Encouraged by a colleague, Renée attended a cinq à sept hosted by Concordia’s Technoculture, Art, and Games (TAG) lab — an interdisciplinary centre for research in game studies and design, digital culture, and interactive art. 

Protecting children and teenagers from cyberbullying

Although their filtering system is able to find malicious chat messages with high accuracy, Two Hat Security was interested in applying machine learning algorithms to automatically detect negative content. To help solve their research challenge, they turned to a Mitacs Accelerate internship with University of Alberta Computer Science PhD candidate Ken Dwyer.

Award Winner Interview: Emily Morris

Can you tell us a bit about the research you did through Mitacs Accelerate that led to you winning the 2013 Mitacs Award for Outstanding Innovation – Master’s?

Pages

L’éducation antidrogue devient philosophique

Comment les jeunes gens d’aujourd’hui peuvent-ils être éduqués par rapport aux périls de l’utilisation des drogues sans utiliser la peur? Comment pouvons-nous les aider à explorer leurs questions sur les drogues et à développer leur capacité à survivre dans une société où les gens utilisent des drogues?

Observer de près les visages familiers

La filiale d’Ottawa de l’Association canadienne pour la santé mentale (ACSM), en partenariat avec le Réseau local d’intégration des services de santé Champlain, a lancé un programme unique intitulé « Visages familiers » afin de surmonter ce problème.

Décoder le code génétique des athlètes de haut niveau

Comme ancien athlète universitaire et détenteur d’un doctorat en biochimie et biologie moléculaire, Jeremy a toujours eu une passion équilibrée entre le sport et sa profession de chercheur en génétique. L’idée de combiner les deux dans une entreprise a commencé à prendre forme pendant un stage Mitacs Accélération.

Drone de longue portée pour la livraison de nourriture et de médicaments dans le nord du Canada

En réponse, les chercheurs et entreprises locales collaborent afin de développer une nouvelle génération de véhicule aérien sans pilote (UAV). Ils espèrent élaborer des UAV, communément appelés des drones, assez robustes pour transporter de grosses charges sur de longues distances sans nécessiter de pilote ou de GPS.

Le bien-être des jeunes autochtones par les arts et la culture

Une approche, qui gagne de plus en plus de terrain, à l’égard de ces enjeux consiste à offrir des activités participatives de nature artistique et culturelle qui sont conçues par et pour les membres des collectivités autochtones. En créant des outils pour raconter des histoires et faire connaître la culture, les chercheurs et les membres des collectivités travaillent ensemble pour permettre aux jeunes autochtones d’explorer leurs capacités créatives et d’imaginer des possibilités pour un avenir meilleur.

Les données volumineuses s’attaquent au crime en Saskatchewan

Mais à présent, un partenariat entre une équipe de chercheurs du Département d’informatique de l’Université de Régina et ISM Canada met au point de nouveaux outils qui utilisent des « données volumineuses » afin de lutter contre la criminalité dans les rues grâce à de l’information tirée du monde virtuel.

À la recherche d’une solution axée sur les données volumineuses

Une recherche à l’Université Wilfrid-Laurier explore les défis des femmes immigrantes

Par le plus grand des hasards, Denisse a reçu un courriel du bureau international de son université qui parlait d’une occasion de venir au Canada pour un stage de recherche Globalink. Denisse — curieuse à propos du pays après avoir pris un cours sur la culture de l’Amérique du Nord — a postulé sur plusieurs projets ayant une composante d’études de genre et fut jumelée à Mme Jenna Hennebry, Directrice du International Migration Research Centre [centre international de recherche sur l’immigration] de l’Université Wilfrid-Laurier à Waterloo, Ontario.

La technologie intelligente fait progresser la sécurité et le confort à la maison

Aymen Djebbi, un stagiaire de recherche Mitacs Globalink de la Tunisie pense qu'il a la réponse.  En collaboration avec des chercheurs à l'Université de Sherbrooke, Aymen aide à développer de la technologie « intelligente » pour les maisons cet été.

Une anthropologue étudie l’utilisation de la terre par les Autochtones afin de comprendre son importance culturelle

« J’ai toujours été intéressée par l’anthropologie, surtout l’ethnographie autochtone, et comment certaines forces tentent de les homogénéiser. Le chercheur joue un rôle essentiel dans ce genre d’études, puisqu’il ou elle doit expérimenter ces communautés en étant dans celles-ci, » explique-t-elle. « L’anthropologie existe dans l’espace où une culture entre en collision avec une autre. » Elle met cette passion au travail à l’Universidade Federal do Rio de Janeiro (UFRJ).

Donner aux familles les outils pour prendre soin d’enfants souffrant du Zika

À des milliers de kilomètres à Halifax au Canada, la stagiaire du programme Mitacs Globalink, Lisandra Oliviera travaille avec une équipe de chercheurs au centre de santé IWK afin de réaliser un examen systématique des thérapies d’intervention pour les parents d’enfants présentant des déficiences similaires aux microcéphalies, un ensemble d’états que l’on nomme des troubles de neurodéveloppement.

Pages