Finding the bigger picture in microscopic algae

After hearing about Mitacs’ Globalink Research Internships through her department head, she set her sights on Canada and submitted her application.

Hayfa’s interest in research abroad soon found her in Trois-Rivières, Quebec, where she’s studying algae in order to learn more about the health of the province’s lakes and rivers. Her research project, based at the Université du Québec à Trois-Rivières (UQTR), uses a new mathematical approach to evaluating the microscopic organisms in fresh and salt water.

Mitacs Entrepreneur Awards: Making an impact on wastewater treatment

Boost Environmental Systems is working to safeguard water quality around the world through the commercialization of a novel approach to treating dairy farm manure and sewage sludge. Called IMPACT, the breakthrough technology is solving urgent problems facing the worldwide agricultural and wastewater treatment industries and is positioning Canada as a frontrunner is clean tech solutions for sustainable waste management.

Milking RFID technology for all it’s worth

Consumers may not be aware of what’s recyclable in their communities, and common items like milk cartons may end up in landfill. In fact, some recycling is buried regardless of its “recyclability,” and the relative size and commonality of milk cartons means they alone can take up a significant amount of space in a landfill.

Postcard from India: University of Waterloo student’s nanocomposite both detects and scavenges mercury in contaminated water

Under the guidance of Professor Michael K.C. Tam in the University of Waterloo’s Department of Chemical Engineering, I have been developing novel nanocomposites based on sustainable nanomaterials that can remove wastewater contaminants. Prof. Tam’s laboratory specializes in the design and development of novel functional materials based on eco-friendly nanomaterials and polymers.

Mathematician fights water waste with robotic sprinklers

Enter InteliRain. The Alberta start-up has its sights set on solving inefficient outdoor sprinklers that waste water due to poor design. The company’s intelligent sprinkler systems only water the lawn or fields, while avoiding sidewalks.

However, when InteliRain CEO Cam Cote realised that wind was thwarting the efficiency of his sprinklers, he turned to University of Alberta mathematician Yile Zhang to develop an innovative solution through a Mitacs internship.

Postcard from Brazil: water resource management in Porto Seguro

Reposted with permission from What WE Have to Say, Western University Engineering’s blog

Researchers attack spruce budworm using chemistry

A recent outbreak of spruce budworm infestation in Quebec contributed to millions of dollars in lost revenue potential for Canada’s lumber industry and threatened forests in northern New Brunswick. This prompted researchers at the University of New Brunswick (UNB) and Carleton University to partner in the development of solutions to ward off the forest pest.

Research into Quebec’s rivers aims to improve Atlantic salmon habitats

This summer, Globalink intern Piyush Rai is working alongside Dr. Normand Bergeron at Université INRS to better understand how improved culvert design can positively impact the migration and survival of Atlantic salmon.

Chemistry and physics research to improve drinking water in remote communities

After a rigorous exam, she was accepted into the École Supérieure de Physique et de Chimie Industrielles de la Ville de Paris. The school encourages its students to pursue research internships domestically and abroad, and after completing an internship in the United States, Clémentine was curious about pursuing further research abroad.

Previous Alberta floods to provide essential data for prediction software

Electricity, water supplies, communication networks, and public transportation were totally shut down. When her parents were unable to get home, Ashwini knew she wanted to do something to better warn people.

This summer, Ashwini has travelled to Canada through the Mitacs Globalink program to do research with Dr. Jennifer He at the University of Calgary’s Schulich School of Engineering. Their research focuses on using weather forecasts to predict extreme events such as floods and develop suitable warning times.

Pages

Inclure la conservation des terrains boisés dans les discussions sur les réseaux sociaux

Elle a donc fait une maîtrise en communications professionnelles à l’Université Royal Roads. Maintenant, grâce à un stage de Mitacs, Alina aide la Garry Oak Ecosystems Recovery Team (GOERT) à obtenir le soutien du public pour sauver les terrains boisés en danger.

La folie des semis

 

Des années plus tard, cette occasion a permis à Joel de se bâtir une carrière et de faire des développements qui ont été bénéfiques pour l’entreprise et le secteur agricole du Canada.

La technologie d’un labo de Simon Fraser et d’une entreprise de Chilliwack fait bourdonner

Afin d’attaquer à ce problème environnemental, une stagiaire de Mitacs, Oldooz Pooyanfar, étudiante des cycles supérieurs à l’École d’ingénierie de systèmes mécatroniques de l’Université Simon Fraser travaille sur un système « intelligent » qui surveille la santé des abeilles domestiques et leurs ruches. Une fois installé dans la ruche, son système de surveillance intégré permet aux apiculteurs d’observer et de suivre la santé de leurs colonies.

Trouver le portrait global dans les algues microscopiques

Après avoir entendu parler de Stage de recherche Mitacs Globalink par l’entremise de sa chef de département, elle visa le Canada et a soumis sa candidature.

L’intérêt de Hayfa pour la recherche à l’étranger l’a bientôt amenée à Trois-Rivières, Québec où elle étudie les algues afin d’en apprendre plus sur la santé des lacs et des rivières de la province. Son projet de recherche, basé à l’Université du Québec à Trois-Rivières (UQTR), utilise une nouvelle approche mathématique pour évaluer les organismes microscopiques dans l’eau douce et salée.

Utiliser l'IRF à son plein potentiel

Les consommateurs peuvent ne pas savoir ce qui est recyclable dans leurs communautés et des articles communs comme les cartons à lait peuvent se retrouver à la décharge. En fait, des matières recyclables sont tout de même enfouies et la taille relative ainsi que la quantité de cartons à lait signifie que seuls, ils peuvent occuper un espace important dans une décharge.

Carte postale de l’Inde : Le nanocomposite d’un étudiant de l’Université de Waterloo détecte et récupère le mercure dans l’eau contaminée

Sous la supervision du professeur Michael K.C. Tam du département de génie chimique de l’Université de Waterloo, j’ai travaillé au développement de nanocomposites novateurs fondés sur des nanomatériaux durables qui peuvent enlever les contaminants des eaux usées. Le laboratoire du professeur Tam se spécialise dans la conception et le développement de matériaux novateurs fonctionnels fondés sur des nanomatériaux et polymères écologiques.

Un mathématicien combat le gaspillage d’eau avec des gicleurs robotiques

C’est là qu’InteliRain entre en jeu. L’entreprise albertaine en démarrage aspire à solutionner le cas des gicleurs extérieurs qui gaspillent de l’eau à cause d’une mauvaise conception. Les systèmes de gicleurs intelligents de l’entreprise n’arrosent que le gazon ou les champs, tout en évitant les trottoirs.

Toutefois, lorsque le PDG d’InteliRain, Cam Cote a réalisé que le vent contrecarrait l’efficacité de ses gicleurs, il s’est tourné vers le mathématicien Yile Zhang de l’Université de l’Alberta pour développer une solution innovatrice à l’aide d’un stage Mitacs.

Carte postale du Brésil : la gestion des ressources en eau en Porto Seguro

Réaffiché avec l’autorisation de What WE Have to Say, le blogue d’ingénierie de l’Université Western

Des chercheurs utilisent la chimie pour s’attaquer à la tordeuse des bourgeons de l’épinette

Dans l’est de l’Amérique du Nord, les forêts sont de plus en plus menacées par la prolifération de la tordeuse des bourgeons de l’épinette. En dévorant les épines, les cônes et les fleurs, la tordeuse des bourgeons de l’épinette affaiblit le bois des sapins baumiers et des épinettes, ce qui les rend sensibles aux maladies et à la mort.

Une recherche sur des rivières du Québec a pour but d’améliorer les habitats du saumon de l’Atlantique

Cet été, Piyush Rai, un stagiaire Globalink, travaille en collaboration avec Normand Bergeron, à l’Université INRS afin de mieux comprendre comment une conception améliorée des ponceaux peut avoir une incidence positive sur la migration et la survie du saumon de l’Atlantique.

Pages