City of Regina Partners with Mitacs to Launch Indigenous Student Internship Program

Regina, SK — The City of Regina has partnered with national innovation organization Mitacs to launch an Indigenous Student Internship Program that creates internship opportunities for Indigenous students within City Administration.

“This initiative is a great opportunity for Indigenous students and for City Administration,” said Niki Anderson, City Manager at the City of Regina. “It allows us to learn from the students’ unique perspectives and enables them to gain valuable work experience.”

The initiative, implemented in collaboration with The University of Regina and First Nations University of Canada (FNUniv), builds on the Mitacs Pathways program, which supports Indigenous students at various academic levels in obtaining internships with employers and funding support.

“Mitacs is proud to partner with the City of Regina in launching the new Indigenous Student Internship Program,” said John Hepburn, Mitacs CEO. “Ensuring equitable access to skills development and learning opportunities is at the heart of our mission and this investment is a testament to the talent and innovation potential of First Nations students in Saskatchewan.”

“This partnership provides invaluable experience for our students and highlights the importance of including Indigenous students. Their perspectives in public administration and business help create inclusive and effective policies,” said Dr. Jacqueline Ottmann, President of First Nations University of Canada (FNUniv). “We are proud of our students’ achievements and excited for their future success.”

“The work our students are undertaking through their Mitacs internships is going to set them up for success upon graduation,” said Jason Bird, Program Coordinator, Indigenous Business and Public Administration at FNUniv. “These internships will not only give them critical, hands-on experience in public and business sectors, but also allow them to develop networks and real-world experience while they are working on their degrees.”

“The University of Regina is honoured to support the relationships of this impactful program between the FNUniv, Mitacs, and the City of Regina. This is one of the ways that we put our commitments into practice to support the strengthening of Indigenous educational supports and relationships, and to foster enhanced economic, social, and creative opportunities for present and future generations,” said Dr. Jeff Keshen, University President and Vice-Chancellor.

Mitacs, FNUniv, and the University of Regina started working with City Administration in the fall of 2023. The first Mitacs intern, Fearence Francis — a business student at FNUniv and a member of the Piapot First Nation — joined the City’s Indigenous Relations branch in spring 2024.

“The Mitacs Indigenous Student Internship Program is an incredible initiative that offers real-world experience and a platform for Indigenous students to apply their academic knowledge in meaningful ways,” said Francis. “As the first intern in this program, I have had the opportunity to contribute to significant projects within the City’s Indigenous Relations branch, gaining invaluable insights and skills. This program not only supports our professional growth but also enhances the City’s efforts in integrating Indigenous perspectives into its policies and practices.”

To date, the City has welcomed two Mitacs interns and is looking to add more as the program continues to expand across City departments.

About Mitacs

Mitacs works to bring innovation to more people in more places across Canada and around the world. Mitacs makes investing in new knowledge easier through access to top researchers, flexible project plans, and co-investments in talent.

A not-for-profit organization, Mitacs is funded by the Government of Canada, the Government of Alberta, the Government of British Columbia, Research Manitoba, the Government of New Brunswick, the Government of Newfoundland and Labrador, the Government of Nova Scotia, the Government of Ontario, Innovation PEI, the Government of Quebec, the Government of Saskatchewan, and the Government of Yukon.

Learn more at