Mitacs partners with Ericsson to provide talent for Global Artificial Intelligence Accelerator (GAIA)

Montreal, QC—Mitacs is partnering with Ericsson on their Global Artificial Intelligence Accelerator (GAIA) in Montreal, a hub focusing on research and development in artificial intelligence and machine learning. The site will be connected to three others in a global network spanning India, Sweden, and the United States (California).

Over the next three years, Mitacs and Ericsson will work with approximately 90 graduate students from Canadian universities. The researchers will use artificial intelligence and machine-learning technologies to create data-driven, intelligent, and robust systems, including a 5G network in Canada.

Since 2012, Mitacs has leveraged its Canada-wide university partnerships to connect almost 100 Canadian graduate students with innovative research opportunities at Ericsson. Mitacs’s platform, which has a long history supporting AI in Canada, sees students apply their specialized expertise to business challenges, while providing much-needed talent to companies like Ericsson.


Eric Bosco, Chief Business Development Officer, Mitacs

“Montreal is home to a thriving artificial intelligence ecosystem that includes the world’s largest concentration of academic researchers in deep learning. In this environment, Mitacs is helping Ericsson gain a competitive advantage by accessing high-quality research expertise.”


About Mitacs:

  • Mitacs is a not-for-profit organization that fosters growth and innovation in Canada by solving business challenges with research solutions from the best academic institutions at home and around the world.
  • Working with 60+ universities, thousands of companies, and both federal and provincial governments, Mitacs builds partnerships that support industrial and social innovation in Canada.
  • Mitacs is funded by the Government of Canada, along with the Government of Alberta, the Government of British Columbia, the Government of Manitoba, the Government of New Brunswick, the Government of Newfoundland and Labrador, the Government of Nova Scotia, the Government of Ontario, the Government of Prince Edward Island, the Government of Quebec, and the Government of Saskatchewan.