Rodrigo Araujo de Medeiros: Developing pipeline reliability

Originally from Brazil’s Universidade Federal da Paraiba, Rodrigo is developing risk-based methods to efficiently and strategically predict which sections of the pipeline are most in need of maintenance or repair. These methods would help to ensure the long-term integrity of many of the oil and gas pipelines that cross Canada, preventing environmental damage caused by spills.

Research dreams take flight

Working as part of the Autonomous Reconfigurable/Robotic Systems Group at the Schulich School of Engineering, Adyasha is helping to further develop a special highly maneuverable, high-speed drone bi-copter capable to fly in confined spaces and other areas such as collapsed buildings typically encountered in urban search and rescue, or mining environments.  Devices like this, which have been under development at the U of C since 2005, could be deployed during disasters to direct rescuers to find stranded survivors.

Meet Hamza Khan: Returning to Canada to find cures for disease

Home Institution/Country:
Vellore Institute of Technology, India

Globalink Research Internship Supervisor
Dr. Steven Zimmerly, Professor of Biological Sciences

Globalink Research Internship Host University in summer 2013
University of Calgary, Department of Biological Sciences

Postcard from Turkey: University of Ottawa master’s student helps contain greenhouse gases

At the University of Ottawa’s Chemical and Biological Engineering department, I work with Dr. Tezel and Dr. Boguslaw Kruczek to investigate the potential for inorganic membranes to capture greenhouse gases. Although these membranes are well suited to large-scale applications, they are a few years away from industrial implementation.

Pursuing a Master’s degree through Mitacs Globalink

After completing his undergraduate degree in Electrical Engineering from the Beijing Institute of Technology, Wanyao knew he had to return to Canada. In the fall of 2013, he enrolled as an international Master’s student in Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering at U of T.

Calling Canada home

As a returning Globalink student, Linda was awarded the Mitacs Globalink Graduate Fellowship which provides financial support to former Globalink Research Interns who return to Canada for graduate studies at select Mitacs university partners.

Pursuing an education in Canada

As a returning Globalink student, Pragyan was eligible to apply for the Mitacs Globalink Graduate Fellowship which provides financial support to former Globalink Research Interns who return to Canada for graduate studies at select Mitacs university partners.

Award Winner Interview: Liang Feng

Can you tell us a bit about the research you did through Mitacs Globalink that led to you winning the Mitacs Award for Outstanding Innovation – Undergraduate?

Postcard from Brazil: UBC student brings laser experiment to Rio de Janeiro

I knew I wouldn’t pass up the opportunity but I was still scared.  When I arrived in Rio de Janeiro, I had no idea what to expect. It was my first trip to South America, I didn’t speak any Portuguese, and I only knew my Brazilian supervisor, whom I’d met once before.

After I landed, I was greeted at the airport and taken to UFRJ and then to my apartment in Santa Teresa, an old neighbourhood on a hill. Once I looked out my window and saw the view of the bay and Sugarloaf Mountain, I realized just where I was. It was amazing.

Announcing the Mitacs Globalink 2013 photo contest winners!

Globalink interns were invited to submit photos to one of three categories: “You and your university,” “You and your city,” and “You and your research.” Check out the winning category photos below.

 

You and your university

Winner: Martha Dourado from Universidade de Brasília. Canadian host university, Simon Fraser University.

 

 

Pages

Un rêve de recherche trouve son pont d’envol

Au sein du groupe de systèmes robotiques et autonomes reconfigurables de l’École de génie Schulich, Adyasha contribue au perfectionnement d’un drone bicoptère original hautement maniable pouvant voler dans des espaces restreints comme ceux où ont lieu des opérations de recherche et de sauvetage en milieu urbain, minier ou autre, comme des bâtiments effondrés.

Faites la connaissance d’Hamza, revenu au Canada pour trouver des remèdes à une maladie

Université d’attache et pays d’origine
Institut de technologie Vellore , Inde

Superviseur de stage de recherche Globalink
Steven Zimmerly, Ph. D, sciences biologiques

Université d’accueil du stage de recherche Globalink à l’été 2013
Université de Calgary, Département des sciences biologiques

Carte postale de la Turquie: Un étudiant à la maîtrise de l’Université d’Ottawa contribue à la réduction des gaz à effet de serre

Au département de génie chimique et biologique de l’Université d’Ottawa, je travaille avec Dr Tezel et Dr Boguslaw Kruczek pour étudier la possibilité pour les membranes inorganiques de capter les gaz à effet de serre. Bien que ces membranes conviennent bien aux applications de grande envergure, il faudra encore quelques années pour que la mise en œuvre industrielle soit possible.

Mitacs Globalink : un soutien pour la maîtrise

Après avoir terminé son baccalauréat en génie électrique à l’Institut de technologie de Beijing, Wanyao savait qu’il devait revenir au Canada. À l'automne 2013, il s’est donc inscrit comme étudiant étranger à la maîtrise au Département de génie électrique et informatique de l’Université de Toronto.

Au Canada comme chez soi

À titre d'ancienne étudiante Globalink, Linda s’est vue octroyer une bourse du programme Miatcs Globalink destinée aux étudiants des cycles supérieurs. Ce programme soutient financièrement les anciens stagiaires de recherche Globalink qui reviennent au Canada pour y mener des études des cycles supérieurs dans une des universités partenaires de Mitacs.

Poursuivre ses études au Canada

Comme ancien étudiant Globalink, Pragyan était admissible au programme de bourses Globalink à l’intention des étudiants des cycles supérieurs. Ce programme propose du soutien financier aux anciens stagiaires de recherche Globalink qui souhaitent revenir au Canada pour y poursuivre des études de maîtrise ou de doctorat dans une université partenaire de Mitacs.

Entrevue avec Liang Feng, lauréat du Prix Mitacs

Parlez-nous un peu de la recherche que vous avez effectuée dans le cadre du programme Globalink, et qui vous a valu le Prix Mitacs pour une innovation exceptionnelle d’un(e) étudiant(e) de premier cycle.

Une étudiante de l’Université de la Colombie-Britannique se rend à Rio de Janeiro avec son expérimentation du laser

Je savais que c’était une occasion à ne pas manquer, mais j’avais néanmoins peur. Lorsque je suis arrivée dans la ville capitale du Brésil, je ne savais pas à quoi m’attendre. C’était mon premier voyage en Amérique du Sud, je ne parlais pas le portugais et la seule personne que je connaissais était mon superviseur brésilien, que je n’avais rencontré qu’une fois auparavant.

Dévoilement des gagnants du concours de photo Mitacs Globalink 2013 !

Cette année, les stagiaires Globalink ont été invités à soumettre des photos dans trois catégories : « vous et votre université », « vous et votre ville », et « vous et vos recherches ». Jetez un coup d’œil aux photos gagnantes de chaque catégorie. 

 

Vous et votre université

Gagnante : Martha Dourado de l’Universidade de Brasília, accueillie au Canada à l'Université Simon Fraser. 

Des algorithmes au service de la santé publique

« Grâce à ce stage de recherche, j’ai appris énormément sur les diverses applications et les nombreux logiciels utilisés pour le mappage des gènes viraux », explique Ye.

Aux côtés du Dr Stéphane Aris-Brosou, du Département de biologie de l’Université d’Ottawa, Ye a participé à la création d’un algorithme novateur destiné à analyser l’évolution et le réseau de transmission du virus.

Pages