Mitacs CEO named to federal Science, Technology and Innovation Council

OTTAWA, ONTARIO–(Marketwire – March 20, 2013) – The Honourable Christian Paradis, Minister of Industry, and the Honourable Gary Goodyear, Minister of State (Science and Technology), today announced the appointment of new members to the Science, Technology and Innovation Council (STIC).

“Science, Technology and Innovation Council members are highly accomplished and respected Canadians,” said Minister Paradis. “The Council’s advice to the government strengthens Canada’s science, technology and innovation capacity, contributing to economic growth and improved social well-being for all Canadians. I am pleased to welcome the new members and would also like to thank the outgoing members for their contributions to the Council.” 

The new appointees are Sophie Forest, Managing Partner, Brightspark Ventures; George Gosbee, Chairman and CEO, AltaCorp Capital Inc.; Maureen Kempston Darkes, General Motors  Corporation Group Vice-President and President, GM Latin America, Africa and Middle East (retired); and Annette Verschuren, Chair and CEO, NRStor Inc.

These new members join Amit Chakma, President and Vice-Chancellor of Western University, and Arvind Gupta, CEO and Scientific Director of Mitacs, who were appointed last year, as well as the following reappointed members: Terry Matthews, Chairman, Mitel Corporation and Chairman, Wesley Clover; Molly Shoichet, Canada Research Chair in Tissue Engineering, University of Toronto; and Rob Wildeboer, Executive Chairman, Martinrea International Inc.

“The Science, Technology and Innovation Council continues to be a critical part of our government’s science and technology strategy,” said Minister of State Goodyear. “The expertise of the Council’s newest members will be invaluable in advising the government on science, technology and innovation issues of national importance.”

“It is a genuine pleasure to welcome new members to STIC, who bring fresh perspectives and contribute to the expertise, knowledge and experience on the Council as a whole,” said Dr. Howard Alper, Chair of the Council. “I am delighted that these individuals have agreed to serve on STIC, and I look forward to working with them to advance science, technology and innovation for the benefit of all Canadians.”

The Council is composed of a chair and 17 members at full complement, 15 of whom are from outside government. Members are appointed from the business, research and education communities across the country and bring a breadth of experience in terms of research, commercialization, entrepreneurship and management.

The government established STIC in 2007 to provide timely advice on critical science, technology and innovation policy issues and to produce regular State of the Nation reports benchmarking Canadian science, technology and innovation performance against international standards of excellence. STIC has delivered strong results in both areas. Its 2008 and 2010 State of the Nation reports were well received by both Canadian and international readers. The 2012 State of the Nation report is expected to be released later this spring.